monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crossing Animals.

Wow, I finally finished that soul-sucking alligator scarf! I finished it tonight while watching people (Ash, Rachel and Kim) take turns playing Animal Crossing. I'm going to wash and block it, which is pretty much just laying it out flat to dry on the dining room table, because I thnk the wash will soften the wool and make it bloom.

I've been talking to Rachel about the differences in everyone's style of play in Animal Crossing. Ash is very much focused on doing things that make money so he can pay his mortgages off, so he planted large numbers of fruit trees in the town, and he time travels forward to pick the fruit, sell it, and pay the mortgage. He doesn't engage the village animals as much, although he does travel to the city to look around and he did visit the salon for cool hair, and bought a tuxedo from Gracie.

Rachel lives in the same town, so she reaps the benefits of Ash's massive fruit-growing operation, but she also spends quite a bit of time fishing. When she digs up fossils, she takes them right to the museum to be identified and then gives the bones to the museum to add to their collection. She really likes to build dinosaurs. She is also spending some time in town, getting hairdos and looking around the shops. She visited the fortune teller, and bought a charm, which involved inviting a visitor to come to her town and do two things - plant a tree and catch a Cherry Salmon. Guess who spent 45 minutes in Rachel's town, fishing like crazy and never did catch a damn salmon?

Kim is a purist. She does not time travel at all, for any reason. She hasn't shown any interest in looking at the strategy guide, but actually none of us have used it, except to look up the prices for fish. When she catches a fish, or a bug, she takes it straight to the museum to put it in the collection, if it is the first of its kind that she's caught. She also gives the fossils to the museum. She visits each animal every day, and she's working on furnishing her house. So she leans toward participating the social life of the village, collecting, and her mortgage isn't her first concern. She has planted trees, but she is waiting for them to grow - she won't advance time to force the growth. Kim went to Katrina tonight to have her fortune read, and Katrina promised her good luck in money, and when Kim got back to the village, she went around shaking trees and money was falling out like crazy!

I am haphazard about paying my mortgage, because there are other things I'm more interested in. I would like to have more interaction with the animals, and I miss running errands for them, like we did in the Gamecube version. I wouldn't mind skipping ahead a day or two to collect fruit from the trees, but Kim won't let me, so I haven't done it. I take my fossils to the museum and donate them, but when I catch fish or bugs I sell them to Tom Nook. Visiting the city is okay, but only if I have a purpose, like getting the silver shovel from Resetti's Lair.

Oh, the Buffy news is that she's still hanging on, and Rich thinks she might be slightly improved. We'll see how she does tomorrow.

11:39 p.m. - 2008-11-23
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter