monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Writing in bed.

Okay, this is kind of cool. Rich has been wanting to get a laptop for me to use, but I didn't really want one because I couldn't see a need for it. The other day he mentioned it again, and showed me one he thought would be a good choice for me, and because I was cold in the den, and I wanted to get in bed upstairs to warm up my feet, I agreed. So here I am, a week later, in bed with my laptop, and my feet are warm!

We had dinner with Rachel and Ash, and the turkey was fine, thanks, not dry, and Kim was happy with it. Whew, that's a relief.

Kim is downstairs on the couch with her laptop, and I just installed MSN Messenger and IMd her. We turned on our webcams and said hello! I should turn mine back on so she can see that Chester is sitting in bed next to me.

Sooo, what's going on today? Let me see:

What I'm knitting today:

Did I mention that I finally finished that terrible Alligator Scarf? It's done and just needs to be washed and dried flat to let the yarn fluff up, or 'bloom'.

I also finished a winter cap for Rachel, just a plain watch cap, you know, the kind with a ribbed bottom that turns up like a cuff and makes a double layer of wool over your ears. It needs to be washed so the yarn can bloom, too, but she was excited and wore it home today. It's made from wool I bought at the Fiber Fair, dyed in pinks and yellow.

I finished the second sock of a pair knitted in the Harry Potter Opal sock yarn. This pair is knit of the Harry color. I started a baby sock for Soren out of the same yarn, because Opal has great yardage and there is always quite a bit left over after a pair of adult socks, so I can easily get a pair of child's socks out of it.

What I'm reading today:

The Curse of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz. This is the follow-up to The Spellman Files, a story about a family in which the parents are private detectives and they've raised their kids to work in the family business.

Yesterday I tried again to read a book called Aphrodisiac by Allyson Roy, because it is a mystery, and I started it a couple of weeks ago, but didn't like it, and I thought maybe I should give it another try. Sometimes when I'm reading at work, I'm too tired to really judge a book, so I started it again, and yeah, it's just as annoying as it was the first time, so I'm not going to finish it. It's the writer's fault, she's just not very good. She's got an okay idea, and her characters could be charming, but she just can't write them. She's too heavy-handed, and she doesn't know that it's better to show than to tell. And tell, and tell.

So that's my day. If anything exciting happens, I'll let you know.

7:54 p.m. - 2008-11-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter