monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Is there such a thing as too much pie?

I didn't work last night, so I went to bed early, woke up at about 1:30 a.m. and stayed up for a while, just playing games on the computer, ate a piece of the coconut pie that our neighbor brought over, and finally went back to bed and slept until about 6 in the morning.

When you get up at 6, there's not a whole lot to do that early. I put in a load of laundry, and watched the (depressing) news on TV with Rich. I played Animal Crossing for a couple of hours, and then I knitted and watched while Kim played.

It was a pretty lazy day. Did some more laundry, watched TV, and cooked a little. Rachel came over and we went out for a little while, and then she helped me make pumpkin custard, which is really pumpkin pie, but without the crust.

While the custard was baking, we went for a walk, and took Kim with us. We were almost back to the house when Rich called my cell phone and said the timer was going off, and asked what he should do with the stuff in the oven. I told him to leave it, I'd be right there, as we were on the sidewalk outside the house.

The custard was beautiful, and tasted just like pie. You don't even miss the crust, except that you can't pick it up in your hand, you have to eat it with a spoon.

This evening Rich brought in wood to make a fire in the fireplace, and I don't know how it happened, but there was a lot of smoke in the living room. The fire was lovely and cozy, though, and eventually the smoke cleared.

I went to bed for a nap before work and when I woke up, Kim was on the couch (where she's been all day) with her laptop, and Ash was putting more wood on the fire. Rachel is at work tonight, too.

While I was sleeping another pie appeared in our kitchen, and Kim told me her friend Ana made it for us. I didn't even look at it. I think I've had enough pie.

11:32 p.m. - 2008-11-28
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter