monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let's do it again!

So RA was out of town last week and when she came back, she brought a little book for me, called "How Not to Become an Old Lady". The introduction to the book states, "Creeping Little Old Lady-hood is everywhere, and every woman is vulnerable. How do you keep it from happening to you? Keep an eye out for the telltale signs."

Now that is what I call some useful information! As a public service, I will share some of these words of warning with you every day this month!

Little old ladies ... have never seen a ladies room that is clean enough.

That is so true! I remember traveling with my grandma, and every time we used the bathroom at a gas station or a restaurant, she was horrified at the filth! I am usually just glad to be in a bathroom that I don't have to clean, and (like my own house) it has to be pretty dirty before I notice it.

In other news, Sarah designed and gave out the awards for Blog Your Bitching month. I'll post it on my page tomorrow, because I can't access it from work. It's nice to be recognized for our hard work - we posted an entry every day for 30 days! Woot!

It was a fun thing to do, at least for the first few days, and then the bloom wore off, but we had a feeling of accomplishment when we were done. It was a relief not to have to write another entry on December 1!

Then today when I was reading the blogs I check every day, I saw a mention of Holidailies! I've heard of it before, and even made an attempt at doing it before, but I've never managed to do a journal entry every day of the month of December. Usually I just forget about it after a few days, but this year after the Blog Your Bitching challenge in November was so successful, I think we should do Holidailies!

The official start of Holidailies is Dec. 5 and it ends on Jan 6, so we have a couple of days to rest up from the rigors of writing every day in November.

One thing that was a problem in November was that we ran out of things to write about, so I was thinking that we should suggest subjects to each other that will give us an opportunity to tell fun stories. Start thinking of topics to write about, and send me your ideas. It will be fun to see what everyone writes. The topics don't have to be holiday related, but they can be.

What I'm reading today:

The Water Room by Christoper Fowler. It's a mystery, one of a series about a branch of the police dept. called the Peculiar Crimes Unit. It was a recommendation from Amazon, and it sounded good so I ordered it for my Kindle. It's a little slow, but it's pretty good.

What I'm knitting today:

Still working on Soren's Christmas stocking, and also have another project, but it's a surprise, so I can't talk about it.

What I cooked today:

Made a turkey breast in the crockpot, so I could have turkey sandwiches! We only cooked a 16 lb. turkey for Thanksgiving and there were barely enough bits leftover to make the soup with. I love my crockpot! I put the turkey breast in it this morning when I got home from work, and it was all tender and juicy at dinnertime.

Well someone is here to give me a bathroom break, so that's all the news for now.

2:21 a.m. - 2008-12-03
5 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter