monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh the weather outside is ...never mind, I'm tired of that song.


Thanks for the award buttons, Sarah!

It's hard not to notice that I have a beautiful new design! Diana changes hers all the time, and I wanted something new and fresh, too! So I did an internet search for a Diaryland-ready template, and found this one on the first site I looked at.

My first online journal was started back in 1998-ish, and I learned the basics of html so I could make my own website. I used a couple of books on html, and also Scott was a helpful resource. I remember he sat beside me, reading a book for his high school English class, and when I needed his help, he would patiently guide me through what I was doing. Mostly he was a crutch until I could remember all the steps involved with FTP-ing.

Later we changed ISPs, and I didn't have free webhosting with the new ISP, so I changed to Diaryland, which is easy to use, and the little bit of html I know has helped me manage my page here. I pay for Gold membership so I can put up pictures, and have comments. I should use more pictures, but I usually write my entries at work, and unless I plan ahead and upload images at home, I don't have access to pictures while I'm writing.

I was thinking about those old journal pages, and I'd like to see if I can still view them. I saved them all to disks, and it would be fun to post a couple of those old entries, just to see what was happening in my life 10 years ago!

Enough about journals, let's see what today's advice is, in regards to the avoidance of OLS, or Old Lady Syndrome!

Little Old Ladies...

think people will be surprised when they tell them, "I'm eighty-two years old."

So true! How many times have I nodded kindly and pretended to be surprised upon hearing those words? Actually I would have guessed that the old dear wasn't a day over 93. Always assume that people think you are older than you are!

*****

So, we had a lot of snow today, and it looks all Wintery and beautiful outside now. I had to go out to a doctor appointment, and the roads weren't too slippery, but when I got to the doctor's office, everyone was talking about the snowfall as if it was a major blizzard!

On my way home I stopped at the store to get a soda and to look for a toy cell phone for Soren, and the store was pleasantly empty of customers. Maybe the weather was worse than I thought?


11:48 p.m. - 2008-12-03
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter