monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My favorite Christmas song.

As I was telling Diana the other day - and also anyone else who will stand still and listen - I am very tired of all the Christmas carols playing everywhere I go, because they are the same ones all the time. Oh, except when I was shopping at Old N@vy a couple of weeks ago and they were playing covers of traditional Christmas songs and they were horrible! Just tragic. I can't even think about it without a shiver.

So Diana's suggestion of talking about our favorite non-traditional carols is a good one! Mine is currently a song by the Pogues (trivia - they used to be Pogue Mahone, which is a loose translation from Gaelic of a phrase that means kiss my ass), called Fairytale of New York. I first heard it last year, and forgot about it until I heard again this year. You can hear it on Youtube; it's a lovely Irish song with depressing lyrics. Just what I like best.

Fairytale of New York

It was Christmas Eve babe
In the drunk tank
An old man said to me, won't see another one
And then he sang a song
The Rare Old Mountain Dew
I turned my face away
And dreamed about you

Got on a lucky one
Came in eighteen to one
I've got a feeling
This year's for me and you
So happy Christmas
I love you baby
I can see a better time
When all our dreams come true

They've got cars big as bars
They've got rivers of gold
But the wind goes right through you
It's no place for the old
When you first took my hand
On a cold Christmas Eve
You promised me
Broadway was waiting for me

You were handsome
You were pretty
Queen of New York City
When the band finished playing
They howled out for more
Sinatra was swinging,
All the drunks they were singing
We kissed on a corner
Then danced through the night

The boys of the NYPD choir
Were singing "Galway Bay"
And the bells were ringing out
For Christmas day

You're a bum
You're a punk
You're an old slut on junk
Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed
You scumbag, you maggot
You cheap lousy faggot
Happy Christmas your arse
I pray God it's our last

I could have been someone
Well so could anyone
You took my dreams from me
When I first found you
I kept them with me babe
I put them with my own
Can't make it all alone
I've built my dreams around you


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
copyright 1988 Shane MacGowan & Jem Finer

Yeah, happy Christmas to you, too. Hey kids, who's not real??

11:17 p.m. - 2008-12-08
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter