monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Baby, it's cold outside!

Today I went shopping. I was with RA and we shopped like shopping machines! I'm still not done, but I am much closer. I need to add the things I bought today to my lists, and then make a plan for the rest.

I have been cruising along on the Surprise, but today Rachel asked me to knit some socks for her department's Christmas charity gift plan. They've 'adopted' a family, and Rachel committed to knitting a pair of socks for each of the parents, and she's almost got the father's pair done, but doesn't have time to finish the mom's pair by Friday. So I'm going to do them.

I cast on for sock #1 and started the ribbing when I came in to work tonight. I can make a pair of socks in four days if that's all I work on, so I'm setting everything else aside until these are done. I'm using Trekking XXL yarn, a superwash wool/acrylic blend from Germany, in varigated pinks, and knitting on size 1 needles. The recipient wears size 11 (!), so I'm assuming her feet are wide as well, and I am making them on 72 stitches instead of my usual 64.

What I am reading tonight:

Still reading Brilliant, but I like it a lot better since a dead body was found. I do love a murder mystery.

What I am cooking today:

I made a fast pot of chili for dinner and it was very comforting. It's super cold here, and the chili was warming and soothing. Nothing fancy, just plain chili with onions and green peppers (I keep a bag of frozen chopped green peppers in the freezer to just pull out a handful when I need some), a pound of hamburger, a big can of red beans, and a can of diced tomatoes. I cook the chili powder with the meat when I am browning the meat and onions, then put in the rest of the ingredients and simmer it for 30 minutes or more.

What I'm watching tonight:

Nothing. I turned on the Food Network for company while I napped before work, and I fell asleep in the middle of one of Sandra Lee's tablescapes.

11:47 p.m. - 2008-12-15
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter