monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gotta knit! Knit faster!

So Kim is on her way home tonight. Unfortunately, she should have been here an hour ago, but she called and said she slid into a ditch just outside a small town half an hour away from home. Rich, Rachel, and Ash went to see if they can get her out, but Kim said a couple of cars had already stopped to help and both of them had said she'd need a tow truck, so it must be a deep ditch. My poor baby.

I talked to Sando, because when I am worried or unhappy in any way I like to spread it around with a big spoon. He said at least it happened up here near home and not 3 hours away! Which is so true! It's a 5 hour drive for her to get home and it would be worse if it happened a hundred miles from here.

A couple of weeks ago when we got the first big snow, Rich pulled his car into the driveway to get it off the street and out of the way of snowplows and it has stayed in the driveway since then. He hasn't used it; we've both been driving the van. He works from home, and I only drive a few blocks to my job, and we just haven't needed his car.

So tonight he took the van, and Rachel left her car here for me because they knew they wouldn't be back with my car in time for me to drive to work, but then I thought, why should I use her car when Rich's car is out in the driveway? I put on my coat and mittens and went out to clean off his car. It was easy, it was just a thick layer of snow, but when I tried to open the door? The lock must be full of ice because I couldn't even get the key all the way in. So I had to drive Rachel's car to work.

Rachel just showed up at the door to the office. They are home, and she needs her keys to get back into her apartment. She said she would take her car back and leave mine here, so there, everything is all back to normal.

Except that Kim's car did have to be towed. Apparently she was in a deep ditch and had her fender smashed against a post. So Rich will need to go see about that tomorrow, but they put all of Kim's luggage into the van and brought her home tonight.

I was going to write about my shopping trip this morning and how I have all of my Christmas shopping done, and it isn't even Christmas Eve, but I guess the Great Ditch Adventure scooped the shopping report.

So here I am at work, and I have a book to read on my Kindle and the first Charity sock that I need to finish tonight if I have any hope of finishing the pair by Friday and I'm starting to wonder if that will happen!?


11:16 p.m. - 2008-12-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter