monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All the snow is melting!

I woke up at noon, and spent a little time admiring Soren, because that's what I'm doing this week while they're visiting.

RA needed to go to the store, so I went with her and got a few more groceries, because OMG, I had forgotten how much food it takes to feed a family! Also, babies drink a lot of milk! It's fun, though, cooking for people who like to eat, instead of just for Rich, who doesn't care what he eats.

Speaking of eating, I have to tell you about our cat Chester. He's the oldest of the three cats, and he has been getting thinner and thinner until he is nothing but bones and fur! He didn't seem to be eating the crunchy dry cat food I buy for them, but I thought maybe he just didn't have much of an appetite. I thought it was because he's old, and that there was nothing to be done about it, except pet him kindly and wait for him to die.

Well, Rich's parents brought a Christmas present for the cats like they always do, and this year it was a box of small cans of soft cat food in gravy, and when someone opened up a can of that, whoa! Chester went to town on it, and ate the entire can, and most of a second one! The next day he ate another entire can, so today I bought two more boxes of the canned food, because oh my goodness, if Chester is going to eat, that is something I want to encourage!

I don't know if he wasn't eating the other food because it was too hard (he still has teeth, although one of them is broken), or just not tasty enough, but I'm happy that we found something he'll eat. I hope he plumps up noticeably before Kim goes back to school, so she can stop worrying about him.

The rest of the day was just more of the same thing we are doing every day - watching movies, playing Animal Crossing, and knitting. Carolyn got out my sewing machine and worked on sewing a baby sling, following a pattern from the internet.

When I woke up from my evening nap, Sando was over, and Kim was making cinnamon rolls while Rich, Scott and Carolyn watched Dark Knight. I took my knitting and watched an episode of Psych on the computer in the den.

And I'm back at work, but so sleepy. Still reading Dead Until Dark on the Kindle, and I'm knitting another pair of pants for Soren. I'm using the same white organic wool that I used for the previous pair, but I think I'll dye these with Kool-Aid, just for fun.

11:33 p.m. - 2008-12-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter