monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And it was snowing when I woke up.

Let me tell you about Chester, the neediest, most annoying cat in the world. I'm happy that he's eating again, and Kim says he feels slightly plumper, but he's a pain in the butt. He comes around and watches us eat, and wants to sit on everyone's lap. He walks across the keyboard when I'm typing, and gets in my way on the desk, and I don't want to push him to the floor because he's frail, and also, he's creepily bony. So I have to call someone to lift him off the desk, which gets me mocked like you would not believe.

Since the last journal entry, Chester has been to see the vet, because Kim looked in his mouth to see if there was anything wrong that would cause him to not eat, although he is eating now, since we discovered the soft food with gravy (thanks to Grandma and Grandpa).

So Kim looked into Chester's mouth and compared it with the information about a cat's healthy mouth that she found on the internet, and she decided that Chester needed to see the vet. I told her his mouth was fine, but she was sure he had a gum infection.

Rich took the cat to the vet the next day, and the vet said his mouth was in very good shape for a cat of his age, thank you. He said that sometimes older cats just decide that it's too much work to chew the hard food. The vet took a blood sample too, and I don't know how he got any blood from that cat, who is nothing but bones and fur, but apparently the vet found some evidence of the beginning of a kidney problem, which just goes to show that if you dig deep enough there is always something to charge me another hundred dollars for wrong.

We have cat medicine to give Chester now, and I hope someone is giving it to him, but that is not my job, it is Rich's job, and he is usually pretty reliable, so I am guessing that the cat is getting his medicine regularly.

Kim is winding up her Winter Break by spending the last couple of days sitting in a chair with her computer in her lap, IMing her friends and looking at her favorite websites. In other words, the same thing she has been doing every day.

She went roller skating on Tuesday, because Sando found out there was free admission that night. She went to Wisconsin to visit friends at their college on Thursday, and brought back her friend Philly's Xbox so she can take care of it for him while he's having a semester abroad.

Today she started thinking about what she is going to take back to school with her, and as a result, it's hard to find a seat in the living room if you want to watch TV, because her stuff is piled in the chairs, and there are cats on the couch.

We got her car back from the body shop yesterday, and tomorrow Rich is going to pound the wrinkles out of her front license plate that got crushed when she went into the ditch on her way home from school three weeks ago, and then he will bolt it to the new front bumper.

I finished knitting fingerless mitts for Kim's suitemates tonight, and tomorrow we'll wrap those to give to the girls when she gets back. I'm hoping to finish Kim's sweater by tomorrow night, so she can take it with her, and then I'll be free to work on Scott's beautiful cabled sweater.

I thnk we're caught up to date on everything now. Oh, except what I'm reading - I started reading Dead Until Dark last week sometime, and I've been reading through the series on my Kindle. They're very entertaining. I think I'm up to book 7.

12:04 a.m. - 2009-01-10
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter