monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which it is all about ME! Isn't it always?

I was having a hard time getting motivated to do anything today. I just sat in front of the computer, staring aimlessly into facebook, waiting for status updates. It was pathetic. In the end, I forced myself to navigate away from all of my 'friends' and get some things done.

I did a load of laundry, wrote a couple of checks to pay bills, and got my Zappos.com return ready to send back. I'll have to take it to the UPS office tomorrow - by myself, since RA is recovering from her surgery.

Then I walked on the treadmill while watching Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, and the time flew by! I hardly ever say this, but I liked the movie better than the book! For one thing, there is almost 100% less profanity in the movie, and you know I use 'sentence enhancers' as much (or more) as anyone, but I got a little tired of it when I was reading the book. Also, there is a situation that I didn't think much of in the book that is completely reversed in the movie and I am much happier with it. I do have one complaint, and that is that I hate vomiting, and OMG, that is a scene I could have completely lived a happier life without seeing. Also, in real life, her phone would have died after being immersed like that, but in movie-world, she kept on using it. Please, if phones were water-proof, I could have saved a lot of money on replacements!

RA had her shoulder surgery today and is home tonight, sounding groggy but feeling no pain, at least until the morphine wears off, haha. Yesterday we went to the yarn store to get more yarn for the yarn-eating baby blanket, and then I left the yarn bag in her car. She said she would drop the yarn off this morning on the way to the hospital, but when I got up, there was no yarn in the front hall where I was expecting to see it (RA has a key to the front door).

I complained to Rich that she was all, "Surgery, surgery, surgery," and must have forgotten about my yarn! A little while later I opened the front door, and the yarn bag was hanging from the doorknob! Oh. You see how it's all about me? My friend is having surgery, and all I care about is getting my yarn!

So here I am, back at work tonight, and then I have my three day weekend, so yay! I hope to finish the baby blanket (and maybe post a picture!) and make some dinner to take over to RA and her husband, because I'm not completely uncaring - unless there is vomiting involved, and then I am gone, gone, gone.

11:30 p.m. - 2009-04-22
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter