monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wildlife adventure.

I woke up this afternoon just as Rich was getting home from church. He ate some lunch and went upstairs for a nap and I sat in the den to read webcomics and waste some time on facebook.

I kept hearing some bumping and scraping around and vaguely thought that it was Rich, until I paid attention to what I was hearing for a minute, and remembered that he was upstairs sleeping. That's when I went out to the living room to see Patsy sitting up, staring attentively into the fireplace and my suspicions were confirmed - another damned bird in the fireplace.

I didn't want to wake up Rich, or get all dirty pulling out the side panels myself, so I decided to ignore it until he woke up. It's not an urgent matter, not like a ticking bomb!

A few minutes later, Rachel and Ash showed up at the door, just stopping in to say hello and use the facilities on their way home from Wisconsin. Yay! Rachel knows all about getting a bird out of the fireplace!

She went right to work, and I wandered away to look for a book they wanted to borrow, so I didn't know Ash was taking pictures. You can see them on Rachel's journal page.

This time when the bird escaped, he made a straight flight for me! I was standing by the front door, opening it so he could get out, but when I saw him heading for me, I screamed and ducked and he flew up the stairs. He tried to get out of the window on the landing but it was closed, and he went on upstairs.

Rich says when he heard me scream he woke up, and could hear us all yelling, and then he saw a bird fly by, so he got up and found the net. Rachel and Ash had gone upstairs to catch the bird, but I was in the den with the door closed by then!

Rachel is an expert bird-catcher now, so she netted it and got it outside in no time at all, thank goodness. She and Ash went home to unpack and promised to come back later for dinner.

Since Rich was awake, he cleaned up the mess around the fireplace, and then we watched a movie. On Scott's recommendation I got Stargate from Netflix, so we watched that and I started sewing on the edging of the mint green baby blanket.

The movie was okay. I actually lost interest toward the end, so I didn't see the whole thing. When Rachel and Ash came back, Ash recognized it immediately and sat down to watch the rest of it, and I took Rachel into the kitchen to keep me company while I made enchurritos for dinner.

I got the edging attached to three sides of the blanket, with one corner that I'm not really happy about. I'm trying not to think about it, because I don't want to rip it out and do it again. It's going to be fine when it's finished!

Here is Kim's story of the last time a bird got in the fireplace. Luckily, that time I was already at work!

11:23 p.m. - 2009-05-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter