monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which there is a recipe.

Rachel says I never update, even when I do something that I could write about, so I asked her what I've done, and she reminded me of a couple of things. I am now going to write about them and I hope you will all be happy, because I notice no one else is journaling for my entertainment!

On Thursday I went out with RA to do errands, like I always do (which is why I never think it's worth mentioning!) and we stopped at Rondee's to give her an entry form because she wants to enter something in the county fair! We sat in the kitchen, where baby Hayden was eating cheetos in his highchair, and we all admired his hair and then I found myself trimming it with a pair of delightfully sharp craft scissors, and it looked good from the front, but not so much in the back, where he got tired of getting a haircut so I didn't do an excellent job.

On Friday Rondee picked up first me and then RA, so we could all drive out to the fairgrounds because they had to turn in the forms and pay a fee. Rondee drove because she has the carseat. It turns out that both RA and Rondee are going to enter apple pies in the fair competition, so we'll see how that goes.

Hayden had gotten a little more haircut, thanks to his dad and his clippers, so the back of his hair was quite a bit shorter and well, it needs to grow out a bit and it will look fine.

After that little trip, we all went home, and I was thinking about making something for dinner, like frozen pizza, when Rachel called and said that she was trying to think of something to make for dinner, so I invited her over to make something at my house. And to eat S'mores that I was making in the microwave.

When she and Ash got to the house, we still didn't have a real plan for dinner, but then Rachel's phone rang and it was an old guy from church, who had heard that Ash was interested in flying model planes, and wondered if Ash wanted to go to the flying field with him? Of course he did!

So Ash called Joe and invited him to go too, because Joe and Ash are becoming the flying guys. Rondee came over to work on dinner with us, and there we were, without a plan. We ate S'mores until we thought of getting pizzas from the place where you get raw pizzas and bring them home to cook them yourself, and then Rondee had coupons, so yay!

We sent Rich out to get the pizzas and by the time he got back, Ash and Joe were also back, because there was no one at the flying field for them to watch, and it's a bit more complicated than that, but anyway, we all ate pizza, and then I went to bed to get a nap before work.

Rachel told me later that she and Rondee went for a walk and left the men in charge of Hayden. So that was Friday.

(Friday is usually the night when Sando, Kim and Ash get together and play games on their laptops in the living room while they watch ghost hunter shows on TV and eat pizza, but Sando was gone this weekend, and Kim didn't even know where he was, because she didn't think to ask.)

I worked Friday night so I had to sleep Saturday morning, but Kim got up early (for Kim) and drove out to the other side of Rockford to visit her friend Britta from high school. So Kim was gone when I got up, and Rich was watching TV.

I was reading my email and checking facebook when Rachel called and said that Ash was gone to the flying field with Joe, and she was looking for something to do. I told her to come over and we would watch a movie or something, but when she got to our house, Rich was getting ready to go to the ward picnic, and she coaxed me into going along.

So that's what I did on Saturday. I went to the picnic, which was a progressive dinner, so it started at one place for appetizers, then went to the next place for salad and very good bread, and then to someone else's house for hamburgers and grilled chicken, which was really good, but then a big storm started blowing and the sky got very dark, and there was much lightening, but only about 10 drops of rain!

By the time we were done eating (and we all had to squeeze into the house for the eating because of the storm), the sky was clearing and it was time to go to one more place for dessert, but I was tired, and the rest of my family had had enough fun, so we went home and I took a nap before work.

So you can see that we did a couple of things this weekend, but nothing very exciting.

It just occured to me that some people might not know how to make S'mores in the microwave, since I only just learned it myself last week, so here is how it's done (I can't really call it a recipe):

You take half of a graham cracker, place a marshmallow on top and put it in the microwave for 20 seconds. The marshmallow will get big and puffy and it might roll off of the cracker, but you can just roll it back on.

Place a piece of chocolate bar on top of the marshmallow and top with the other half of the graham cracker. See? It's easy and fast, and your marshmallow doesn't get all burned and ashy from falling off of your stick like when you roast it over a campfire. Also, there are no mosquitoes!

1:58 a.m. - 2009-06-29
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter