monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Texting.

I think that Relax and Sleep medication from the health food store is making me crabby. I noticed the same thing before when I was using SleepMD instead of Tylenol PM, and when I stopped taking it, I felt less cranky. I bought more T. PM at the store tonight, so I should be feeling better tomorrow.

Last night I didn't have to work, and Kim was out at a concert with Sando and another friend of theirs, so I wanted to stay up until she got home, just to make sure she got home okay. I ended up being unable to sleep all night! I kept going to bed, and reading until I felt sleepy, but then I'd lay in bed awake for a while, so I would get up and read some more, then lay awake a while longer. Ugh, it was a long night.

Kim got home and went right to sleep.

So I didn't get up until three in the afternoon, and I hate to spend the whole day in bed on my day off! I went for the two-mile walk with Kim, and while we walked, we talked about how much we needed to go grocery shopping, so when we got home, we made a list and went to the store.

Well, first we had to eat something, because we were both too hungry to shop. By the time we got to the store, Kim was feeling grumpy, I'm not sure why, and her bad mood was making me unhappy, too. I told her to pull herself together because she was ruining my life, but she just got more annoyed.

So I tried to ignore her bad mood, and just get the shopping done, but oops! I left the list at home! I pulled out my cell phone and called Rich and he read the list to me while I scribbled it down on the back of an envelope that was in my purse.

Kim thought maybe some ibuprophen would help her feel better, so we pulled a box out of the cart and she wrenched the child/terrorist-proof wrapping off and took a couple of them, washing it down with a Diet Pepsi from the cooler.

So there we were - Kim was strolling along behind me, texting two or three of her friends, making plans for the post-fireworks gathering. I was going down the aisles, feeling disorganized and having a hard time focusing at first, but finally I was able to get my shopping mojo on, and as we were heading up to the cashier, so we could pay for it all and get out of there, my phone buzzed with a text message.

I felt popular for a minute, because Ooh! I got a message! but then I saw that it was from Kim, who was right there with me, walking slightly ahead. I read the message and it said:

Kim:
Good Lord. My mom is driving me insane. She needs a life to observe besides mine.

Nice. I held my phone out for Kim to look at, and said, "I don't think you meant to send this to me," and we both started laughing. By then we were getting in line at the register, and you know I had to tell the clerk and the bagboy about that, and they were very amused, too.

For her punishment I made her put all the groceries away when we got home, but I probably would have done that anyway.

9:14 p.m. - 2009-07-03
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter