monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bitter, party of one.

I had to come in to work at 7 tonight, 4 hours earlier than usual to work an unexpected 12-hour shift, so I didn't do a whole lot today at home.

When I got to work, I found an office full of boxes! I had asked both Barb and Billy No-mates to see if they could snag some boxes for me (to use in moving Rachel's stuff) and they really came through!

I called Rich and he came down to get the boxes. I don't think he took them home, I think he just loaded them into my car, but that's okay. I'll unload them at home tomorrow and start packing.

The switchboard was busy at work when I got here with most of the calls being from people trying to reach a certain doctor who lives out of town and didn't want to make the trip into town because of the thunderstorm. One of the other docs, a real crabapple, kept trying to get through to him on the phone, going through me of course, because doctors cannot look up numbers or dial them on their own, and he was very frustrated by the whole situation. Finally he told me he just had to talk to him, he didn't care how I did it, but he had to talk to him and he hung up. Fine, I could send a singing telegram...

What I love best about working the night shift is that I hardly ever have to talk to doctors. Another benefit is the smaller number of calls from idiots. There is just a low volume of calls, therefore I talk to fewer idiots - the percent of calls from idiots remains the same.

Most of the incoming calls at night are from people who need to ask a question, like how much Tylenol they should take for a headache (Here's an idea; read the directions on the bottle!), or they had a baby a month ago and now they have an upset stomach and they told their doctor about it but now it's worse so they want to talk to someone in the ER (see, first the caller has to tell me all about their symptoms - and don't think I haven't had calls that describe the discharge from their penis, because I certainly have). I know the ER personnel can't answer medical questions and they will just tell the caller to contact their doctor's office, but the callers don't believe me when I tell them that, they insist on speaking to a nurse, so I have to put them through to the desk in the ER, so that someone there can tell them to call their doctor's office.

Yeah, I was going to try to have more charity and not judge people, but then I had to come to work.

12:04 a.m. - 2004-06-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter