monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

She's making a list.

When Rachel went back to Eville last night, she was planning to stay just one night and come back today after her interview, but she called this evening and said she's going to stay there this week and move into her new apartment this weekend.

She just called me at work and we made a list of things she needs from home, and either I'll take them to her on Thursday, or Rich can do it on Friday. It was fun making the list! I love making a plan like that and figuring out what she'll need. She started making a little shopping list, too, so she'll have some food when she moves in.

*****

With Rachel gone, it's up to me to help Kim do her cross-country training. I just don't want to let her out to run 3-4 miles alone, either in the heavily wooded park, or through town - I would be too worried about her. So tonight we went on my regular two-mile walk and she ran it while I walked. Obviously she wasn't running right next to me, but she passed me several times, so I knew she was around. When she's ready to run longer routes, we can change to the three-mile walk, and it will be good for me to add some length to my walk, too.

Knitting news - when I got home this morning there had been some cat-aided dog destruction going on in the living room, and it included a ball of yarn. These animals are pissing me off!

Anyway, I am knitting socks this summer, and these are the current pairs:

1. Regia varigated - 1 down, 1 half-done.

2. Opal blue and white fair isle - just started sock #1.

3. Silja white waffle-patterned socks - one finished, one half-done.

Today Diana was talking about socks and how that's all she feels like making now, too, so I told her to buy a sock pattern book. I started thinking about that, and wondering which one she should get. I really don't knit texture-patterned socks much because I like just mindless knitting, and if I'm doing a pattern, I have to think too much. The waffle patterned socks really are almost mindless, and I don't think I'd want to work on something that is more work than they are.

I did dig out a book I've been thinking of lately, because a couple of knitters have mentioned it on their blogs - "Knitting on the Road" by Nancy Bush. I brought it to work tonight to read while I knit. The patterns are great, I just don't know if I want to make something that I'll have to think about.

11:50 p.m. - 2004-06-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter