monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

When the going gets rough, shop with somebody tough.

I woke up at noon, just before Shelley called. She wanted to know if I could go with her to look for knitting needles for girl's camp. No problem!

Kim was gone when I got downstairs, because Wednesday is her morning to play the harp at the hospital. Ruthann picked her up from our house and took her to play so I could sleep. Then she had a harp lesson, so she was gone when I woke up. I tried to call her later, while we were shopping, but there was no answer, and I was a little worried, but then I remembered that she was going over to Sister Neuman's house to practice German conversation today. It was a busy day for Kim!

While I was eating Cheese Nips and drinking Diet Pepsi for breakfast (you know you want some), I called Verna at the yarn shop to see if she had any needles that she could give us. I knew she had lots of old, mismatched ones that she uses for when you are buying yarn and you want to try a swatch in the store, and she came through with about a dozen pair of knitting needles and another dozen crochet hooks! Yay!

We went to Verna's first and Shelley, being a new knitter, was looking at all the yarn and projects in amazement! She was impressed by the tatting, too.

We went to the thrift shops next, and found a couple of crochet hooks in one, and some old dpns in what looks like a size 00 or smaller, for knitting lace. They were in an old wooden tube, which is how I recognized them - I have some like them at home in the same kind of tube. So I bought them for a dollar - I couldn't leave them there, unappreciated, although I doubt that I will ever in this lifetime knit with any needles that small!

When Ruthann and I shop, we do it in a leisurely fashion, visiting a store or two, stopping for lunch, and refueling on Diet Pepsi. Shopping with Shelley is an entirely different sport. She doesn't eat, which is why she weighs about 92 lbs, and she just. Keeps. Going. I was exhausted! We made so many stops! We had to get in and out of her van, which, by the way, doesn't have automatic locks, so the passenger has to stand in the hot sun, waiting while the driver unlocks her door and reaches over to unlock the passenger door! Oh, the suffering! We dragged through Walmart, we went through Joann Fabrics, oh my goodness, I was sick of buying needles!

We have needles now. Many needles. We've got knitting needles like the day is long. When I got home I took a nap.

12:21 a.m. - 2004-07-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter