monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which my life lacks excitement, but it's the little things that count.

So have I mentioned that my foot is hurting? Not the one I broke a couple of years ago, the other one! It feels like it might be a stress fracture, and there really isn't a whole lot to do for it, but it's painful, and it's not like I can just stay off of it. It's my foot! I need it! So that's not making my life happy.

Nothing much is going on here, so I'll just move into the knitting report. I started a hat for Inger's husband today. It looks a little big, but I'm tired of making hats for all these bighead family members and then they don't fit, so I'm going to keep working on it and hope for the best. It's a plain brown hat, nothing special, just a fade-into-the-background, do your job and don't draw attention to yourself kind of hat. It's what men like.

I'm working on the first sock of a pair of plain white socks for Scott, just some nice woolly socks out of cream-colored Silja. All my knitting is a little boring right now, isn't it? I was thinking of putting a stripe of color around the toe of each sock, just to make them interesting, but in a manly way.

Ed's alpaca scarf is done, and I'm working on a pink one now, for his girlfriend. I hope she likes pink. And if she doesn't, well, I'm sure she'll be too polite to mention it. It's soft and pretty, and maybe it will grow on her.

I want to start a nosewarmer for Ruthann. She mentioned it the other day and I just rolled my eyes, but then I saw a pattern for one in Knitty, so I printed it out and tonight I found some yarn for it. I put the yarn and some needles in my purse and I might start it tonight while I'm reading later.

I'm reading Dracula by Bram Stoker. Kim read it for a class last month and she loved it, except that one of the characters she was fond of, died in the end. She kept talking about what a good book it was and last night I started reading it and I couldn't put it down. I told Scott about it when I got home this morning, and while I was sleeping, he started reading it, too. It's good! We're both reading it on the Project Gutenberg website, which is great for me at work because I can knit and read it from my computer screen and just hit the space bar to page up, so I don't have to put my knitting down to turn the page. Scott is reading it from his laptop while sitting on the couch, and that's how Kim read it, too, because when she needed to start it, we didn't have a copy of the book in the house.

So that's all that is going on here. Made dinner, walked the dog, took a nap, came to work. Yawn.

11:51 p.m. - 2004-11-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter