monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am not now, nor have I ever been, a member of the communist party.

It's Sunday afternoon and Rachel just left to go first to sacrament meeting at the Singles Branch, and then to drive from there back to E-ville. Scott went to the Singles Branch, too, but they drove separately so they could leave separately.

It's been a pleasant weekend. Scott did a lot of the Thanksgiving cooking, e.g. making the pies, and we worked together on brining the turkey. When I woke up on Thursday (I worked the night before), we put the turkey in the oven and then Rachel, Kim, and I sat in the living room to knit and watch Scott play Shadowhearts Covenant, a video game.

Rich had a terrible cold, so he stayed in bed in our room most of the weekend. The rest of us took over the dogwalking duties, and as a result, the dog is traumatized because she can't figure out why her Daddy hasn't been walking her. She's pretty worried about it.

So dinner was okay, but I think the turkey could have cooked a little longer. I'm going to buy a meat thermometer before we do that again. It's okay, I don't think we'll get a disease from undercooked poultry, but I am not running in there to make any white-meat turkey sandwiches.

We watched some holiday television in the evening, and then it was back to knitting and watching the video game. Far into the night for some people, but I was tired from working all week and never sleeping enough, so I went to bed at about 11.

I knitted constantly for three days and finished the red shawl/scarf late last night. Rachel wore it to church today and it looks great!

Friday morning I took Rachel to get a haircut and then we shopped for some clothes for her. She's been running to get ready for a marathon and she's lost weight, so her clothes were quite baggy. She's happy now that she's got something to wear. She took some sweaters back with her that she's been wishing she had - she didn't want to take them when she moved down there in July, but she's been needing them now that it's cold.

By Saturday night Scott was tired of playing the game for hours, so the kids all read in the living room and I just watched the preview channel, hoping there would be a movie on. Galaxy Quest finally started and when I changed to that channel everyone else watched it, too. There was some editing, so it would have been better if we had just watched our DVD, but you know my DVD player is wonky!

I know it doesn't sound like an exciting weekend, and it really wasn't, but it was wonderful to have everyone home! Scott and Rachel were telling each other mission stories, and I can't get enough of that, and Rich took Kim out to buy a new fish on Saturday afternoon.

Everyone went to see National Treasure in the evening except me because I was making Turkey Soup for Rich, who has never had it. (And you know I have issues about going to the movies.) I was teasing him about not realizing before that his mother was a communist and did he even grow up in this country? Because how could he never have had Turkey Soup after Thanksgiving! Then my children reminded me that they have never had it either, but that's not because I'm a commie, it's because my mother used to make it and it was awful, so I never wanted to make it myself. Since Rich wanted to try it, and it looked good when Alton Brown made it, I simmered bones and whatnot for three hours to make stock and then used the stock to make soup. Which was ready when they got home from the movie and everybody loved it!

I'm going to take a nap now.

1:31 p.m. - 2004-11-28
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter