monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am typing in my sleep.

I just got home from work and had a turkey sandwich because I was hungry, but now I still don't feel ready to go to sleep. I don't know why, I'm not afraid I'm going to miss something, since it's just Rich and the dog home today.

We had a lovely Thanksgiving, with a perfect turkey, and last night I made turkey soup from a recipe I found on the internet a few years ago.

It's a great recipe - so much better than the terrible turkey soup my mom used to make! Diana said that her mom made terrible turkey soup, too, and then she said that one of her friends had a mother who made the turkey soup and gave it to her daughter in a plastic ice cream bucket, which was so covenient for dropping it into a dumpster on the way home. Good thinking!

This recipe is just wonderful and my kids look forward to it! You make soup stock out of vegetables and the turkey carcass, and then you strain the broth and throw away all of the vegetables and turkey pieces. Then you chop fresh vegetables and dice leftover turkey and add that to the pot of stock along with some rice, and your soup is good because isn't full of vegetables and turkey that you stewed the life out of - they have flavor!

What I'm reading today:

Actually I finished it at work last night, but I was reading Tooth and Claw by Jo Walton and it was delightful. I was told that it was like Anthony Trollope, only with dragons, and wow, it was! I love Trollope, so I had to run right out and get it. It was wonderful.

What I'm knitting today:

A little hat for baby Soren that looks like an anime character called Toturo (Totoro?). Anyway, it's so cute!

What I'm watching today:

I'm not watching anything right this minute, but Rich has been watching The Travel Channel for about a week, and on Friday he watched a marathon of a show where a guy travels around eating gross food. I can't think of the name of it, but Diana and I watched it in the hotel in Nauvoo, and it was disgusting.

Yesterday I begged him to turn off the TV for a while, and to my surprise, he did. It was pleasant.

I really don't have much going on to report on. Oh, I finished the Golden Compass, and it was good right up to the very end, when it got all hazy with fake science and fake theology, and I was reading it at 5 in the morning, so it's all a big blur. I'm not so sure I want to read the other two.

Okay, I'm going to bed now.

7:18 a.m. - 2007-11-25
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter