monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm knitting as fast as I can!

Get Fit 2004 is a program that the hospital sponsers every year. You round up some friends and/or co-workers to form a team, and all of you follow the Get Fit program for 12 weeks, with an evaluation of your weight, cholesterol and body-fat composition at the beginning and the end. I haven't done it before, but this year when I read the information about it, I thought it would be an easy way to make some small changes.

Ruthann, Hope, Billy No-mates and I are a team, and we need to recruit one more person. Ruthann said she would try to find someone at Enrichment meeting at church tonight - "Hey, you look flabby and out-of-shape, wanna be on our team?"

So this afternoon I went with Ruthann to our initial health screening and OMG, I have high cholesterol and I'm fat! Who knew? Yeah, that was depressing.

After that we went to Curves, where we haven't been in a month, and we panted our way around the circuit - ugh. I was dreading it, thinking that Curves would be full of new people, with lines waiting to get on the machines, but we just hit it at a good time, I guess. Afterward we were feeling very noble and proud of ourselves, and we stopped for a Diet Pepsi on the way home. We needed it! We were dehydrated after our workout!

So here's what we are doing to follow the Get Fit Program:

  • Drink at least 32 oz of water a day.

  • Eat 5 servings of fruits and vegetables a day.

  • Exersize at least 20 minutes a day.

They aren't huge changes, so we think we can do them. We were given a diet that we could follow, and some material about changes in diet to lower cholesterol, and a book of healthy recipes.

Speaking of recipes, I made Pancit tonight for Rachel and she really liked it. It's been fun cooking while she's home, because she appreciates it. Rich and Kim don't care if I cook or not, so there's not much incentive to do it. The refridgerator is full of leftovers now, but when Rachel goes back to school, it will go back to its usual state of mostly-empty.

Knitting:

Still making Socks for Sale. Rachel is almost done with a pair and so am I. That makes 3 down, with 3 to go. Except that the nurse who asked me to make them asked me for one more pair tonight. I'm going to make them, but I would really like to be working on some of my own stuff! If she wants any more after these are done, they'll have to wait until I finish some of my other projects.

Rachel is updating her journal almost daily, but I don't know how long she'll keep it up when she gets back to school. Check it out here.

12:05 a.m. - 2004-01-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter