monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fuck Fuckity Fuck.

So I came to work tonight (since they pay me for it and all, I thought I'd come in) and this place stinks! It smells like old garbage! I tied the top of the trash bag in our office closed, but it still smells. I might have to go put it in the back hallway and hope that fairies take it away (or the housekeeping staff).

I'm a little nervous tonight because I have to do all of the new little jobs that are mine now that Crabby Appleton is retired. The problem is, I wasn't really trained to do some of them. She taught me to do the big job, and I can do that, no problem. But there are several little jobs that involve checking and changing backup tapes, and those I'm not so sure of. She left them until the last day of training, and when she started showing me how to do them we discovered that I didn't have actual access to the screens that I needed. So that was pretty much the end of the training. She said the directions are in the book, and I'm sure they are, but I'm not sure which tapes match which directions. AND I'm supposed to order supplies. Oh man, I'm sad when I think about what an idiot I'm gonna look like when I mess things up.

Since it is Sunday, I took the day off from knitting Socks for Sale, and I worked on the vest for Scott's companion. Currently there are 3 and a half pair of socks finished, and 2 and a half to go. Oh it will be a happy day when they are done.

I'm reading (or I should say re-reading because when I started it, I realized that I read this book once before) a book called Killer Stuff, about a woman who goes to garage sales, estate sales and rummage sales, and buy collectibles for herself and for resale. There is a lot of information about collectibles, and I love books like that, where I learn new things while reading a good story (with murder). That's why Dick Francis books are good, when I can bring myself to read one; I always enjoy it. I have to force myself to start one, or have nothing else to read, because his main characters are the male equivalent of Mary Sues. That is, the annoying characters who know everything better than anyone else and are practically perfect in every way. (Thanks to Karin for that bit of literary trivia.)

I think I'm done watching Six Feet Under. I'm just tired of the characters. Last night I looked up the show on the Television Without Pity website, just to preview some episodes, and I read all of the snarky reviews of the first season and decided that I don't need to watch anymore. I'm going to read the reviews of the second and third seasons, just for fun, and because really, the reviews are better than the program, and have a lot less cursing.

I know, you're surprised that someone like me, who kicks the f-word around like a hacky-sack, would find all that swearing annoying, but you know what? They say it constantly, I mean in every sentence, and I'm sick of listening to it.

Also they disgust me by constantly, I mean always using it as the verb! It just sounds nasty, and they all do it, I mean every time they talk about sex, which is constantly because apparently none of them have hobbies for craps sake, they have to use the word fuck. You know what? That ain't pretty.

I am all for being upfront about things, and calling a spade a spade, but there are some situations in which there are nicer ways to say things! "Have sex" is blunt but not offensive, "make love" well, that's a little to sweet, how about "the wild monkey dance" (tm Diana)? "Do it" (maybe a little too 7th grade), "screw" (ewww), "sleep together" (my personal favorite). Do you see what I mean? "Make foo-foo!" There are just so many pleasant euphemisms, why be crude? Please, feel free to submit your suggestions, if you wish.

I kind of suspect that there is a lot of gratuitous nudity and obscenity just because it's a cable (HBO) show. They can do it, so they feel they must. It's like growing a mustache - just because you can do it, doesn't mean it's a good idea. I'm happy to look at naked people, and I don't mind swearing, but these people all talk like truck drivers.

Okay, gotta go work.

11:36 p.m. - 2004-01-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter