monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I updated. Are you happy now?

So yesterday it was 6 in the morning and the phone rang at work while I was talking to Barb, who was at work early, and it was Ruthann calling. She wanted to go to Curves at 7 when I left work and then go to breakfast.

I agreed to go but I told her I thought it would be hell on a stick. I didn't want to do it, I just wanted to go home to bed, but I also knew that she was right, that we would get it over for the day and then be able to enjoy the rest of the day guilt-free.

She was waiting for me at home when I got there and I ran up to the door and gave my work totebag to Rich so I didn't have to take it with me, and I hissed at him, "I'm going to Curves with Ruthann. I hate her - I need a new best friend!"

So we went to Curves and it was a freak show there at 7 in the morning! The first thing I saw when we went in was a woman who looked like a cadaver! I didn't get on the first open machine, because it was right next to her, so I moved down a little, but that put me across from her at a certain points in the circuit, so that was unpleasant. There was another woman who was completely round, with long grey hair in a ponytail, wearing a big purple t-shirt - she reminded me of Violet Beauregarde in Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. (I just had to Google for her name; Rich couldn't think of it, either.)

There was a woman with long scary yellow hair and thick bangs who was at least 50, which was 44 years too old for that hair, and she had a drooping face that was just exaggerated by it, and about halfway through the workout, someone I've met at Verna's knitting nights showed up, but I don't think she recognized me. She's the reason I don't go to those knitting nights anymore. Oh my goodness, I just kept closing my eyes and trying not to scream.

Our Curves has a new machine, but I'm not sure what it's for. You stand on the platform and pull up on it, alternating sides, and Ruthann said it stretches out the side opposite the pulling arm. Huh, maybe if you're a lot taller than I am. I was just standing there pulling up on it and my arms got tired, but there wasn't any stretching involved. I'm a midget! So I guess that makes me part of the whole freak show.

We went to breakfast next door at the Prime Table, which is fast becoming one of my favorite restaurants, except for the smoking that is allowed there, and when I started talking to Ruthann about the overwhelmingly creepy experience I'd had at Curves, I found that she was unaware of any of it!

She said, and I've kind of noticed it before, that she just gets into her own little world while she's working out, and she isn't really aware of the other people. (Ruthann: "I'm just reciting my mantra in my head!" Me: "What is it? 'Please let me die now'?") I, on the other hand, am so desperately searching for entertainment to take me out of the experience, that I am looking at everything around me and listening to the inane babble that passes for coversation while we work out.

So we ate a big breakfast and she went to work and I came home and went to bed. Only to be woken up about 4 hours later when Olga came to clean and was vacuuming everything that didn't move. I was mostly just dragging through the rest of the day. I took to my bed like an aging starlet at 6:30, with my laptop and a book and my knitting, and then I fell asleep about 9. I woke up when Rachel called at 11, and talked to her for a few minutes, had some quick foo-foo when Rich came to bed right after that, and then went back to sleep until 7:30 this morning.

I have to tell you though, why I love Ruthann and why she is the greatest friend in the world. Besides taking me to Curves and forcing me to work out, which I would never do without her. When she dropped me back at home after we exercised, she was going to go to Walmart, but I was too tired to go. I was out of Diet Pepsi at my house, and I didn't want to wake up to a house with no Pepsi, so she offered to buy some and give it to Rich (she works at his company) to bring home at lunchtime. When I woke up, I could tell by looking in the sink and finding no dirty dishes that he hadn't been home for lunch, but I looked outside just in case, and yes! there was a box of Diet Pepsi sitting on the steps! Ruthann told me later that she had just dropped it off and then told Rich to bring it in when he got home. It was only about 10 degrees outside, so it was really cold when I brought it in, too!

In knitting news, I am on the sixth pair of Socks for Sale. I told the nurse who bought them that I was going to take a break for a week after the first six pairs - her original order - to get some of my own knitting done. I want to work on the Knit A Long sweater and finish Elder Harrison's vest.

So my plan for today includes laundry, breadmaking and sitting on my ass knitting.

7:46 a.m. - 2004-01-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter