monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Abandoned books

Here I am at work, doing a 12-hour shift. I don't mind a lot, but I feel tired because I had to come to work at 7, which is usually the time I lay down to take a little nap before work. Oh well, I'm here, and I packed some snacks, some knitting, and two books, in case I don't feel like reading one of them.

I stayed in bed until 2 this afternoon and then Ruthann called to see if I wanted her to pick up Kim so I could rest. That was thoughtful of her, but I was ready to get up. She said she needed to drop off some books for the annual Women's Book Sale and asked if I had any to take, and yes! I had a stack of Rich's textbooks that I had found buried in the yarn closet last week.

Rich collects these old textbooks whenever he sees them for sale and claims that he's going to use them for reference material. This particular lot of books had been buried in that closet for about 8 yrs and he has never missed them, so I put them in a box to take to the sale.

The box was too heavy to lift, unless the part of me was being played by Xena, so I dragged the box down the hall and bumped it down the stairs and then Ruthann and I each carried half the books to the car.

We picked up Kim and then drove out to the small town where the books are collected and held until the sale. Oops! They close early on Tuesdays! We didn't want to haul all those books back home, so we piled them on a stone pillar in front of the door that holds a large imbedded ashtray, and we left them there. Imagine someone's surprise tomorrow! It'll give the employees something to talk about all day.

Back at home, I emptied the cardboard box full of my mom's geneology books and papers that I've been keeping next to my desk in the den, and put all of the family history stuff into the now-empty plastic bin, and put the lid on. The puppy has been tearing pieces off of the box, and now all of the geneology stuff is protected from puppyteeth.

I want to have a contest like some of the knitbloggers do! I have some sock yarn to give away for a prize, or maybe some other, more glamorous yarn! I was thinking of asking questions about myself to see who can answer the most of them correctly. I couldn't think of enough questions, though, so I was hoping that each of you could submit a few questions that you know the answers to, and I'll use all of them. You know you'll at least get the right answers to your own questions.

11:06 p.m. - 2004-02-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter