monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kim is making me listen to elevator music.

It's been a long day. Mostly because I haven't done anything! Rich was wiped out after a hard karate class last night, so he took a nap this afternoon and I went to the library with Ruthann. When we got back, I took a nap, too. So that's the kind of exciting day I had.

Kim is doing her homework on the floor beside me in the den, and we have the door closed to keep Buffy from peeing in here.

We take the dog outside constantly to piddle, and I can't figure out how it has an opportunity to pee in the house!! I'm really starting to regret the whole getting-a-puppy idea and wishing I had bought a new couch, instead.

Rich went to work to change the backup tapes and took the dog with him! Haha, he said she just wandered around, looking at everything. Apparently his boss has had her dog in there visiting before, too.

I'm in a knitting lull right now. All of the Socks for Sale are done, and I don't have anything that I'm at all excited about. The pattern I ordered for Kim's cardigan finally came in at Verna's last week, so I have that to work on, but ugh, it's too much work. I need something simpler, you know, something I can just knit on while I read, because I got a pile of books from Amazon today, and a bunch from the library, too.

I want to make a cardigan for Kim - something cute and easy that she can wear at school. It needs to be a neutral color, so that it can go over everything. The pattern from Verna's is cute and I was going to make it in a gray wool from Bartlettyarns, but again, too much thinking is involved. The pattern isn't charted, it's an Aran kind of pattern, but it's all written out. I prefer charted patterns!

I'm still working on the cabled hoodie for her (or Jeanette). Last night I was knitting it in bed while reading and I finally realized that what I've been suspecting all along was true. (Sound of doom) Yes, the center back cables are backward. Waah!! I have been talking myself into thinking they were right, and that even if they were wrong, it wasn't noticeable, but last night I took a good look. They're wrong and they are noticeable, even if only by me.

So I let down the stitches all the way back to the first cable cross, and knitted them back up again. Ugh, what a pain. As I was knitting them up again, I kept thinking I should just rip the sweater out - I wouldn't even need to start over, I could just give up on it. But, well, I really want to finish it, just because Karin finished hers and Rachel is making one, and I don't want to be the quitter. So I knitted up all the cables again, and now it's resting. I'll see how it looks tonight when I go to bed.

Kim is playing some live internet radio station in the background while she does her homework and I type this. It's a new age station and I think it's so boring! She just got all fired up when a new song started! Huh. Go fig.

7:45 p.m. - 2004-02-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter