monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And they've got a pepper bar!

Rich was singing the annoying Quiznos song tonight before I came to work and now it's playing on an endless loop on the radio in my head!

I think I've been working too much lately. I have been getting crabbier with the callers, and I've been rude to a couple of employees who called me. The employees were idiots and deserved it, but still, I used to take pride in being nice to everyone, no matter how obnoxious they were, and now I'm being mean. I'm looking forward to some time off in March.

I finished reading A College of Magics today. It was okay. I liked it a lot, right up to the last two chapters. That's when the heroine finally gets to the end of her quest to mend the rift in the world. It was the actual mending of the rift that was a problem for me, and if I had not been so underwhelmed by that, I would have enjoyed the ending more. That's really my problem with most science fiction and fantasy. The solution to the problem, that's where they lose me. It's either too technical and I just start bzzzz-ing over the text to get on to some more of the story, or, like what happened with this one, the solution becomes too ... esoteric? Is that the word I want? Something like vague and metaphysical. I just started skimming the text; it was almost like when an adult speaks in a Peanuts cartoon show and you don't hear the words, just their voice going mwah mwah mwah. So that was disappointing, and then the ending didn't really improve it. Bleh. Still, most of the book was an entertaining read, and maybe someone else would have been able to grasp the foggy parts and like it better than I did.

Riding a wave of fantasy enthusiasm, I had checked out several more books of that nature from the library and now when I'm thinking about them, I wonder if I'll read them. Oh, and the other two from Amazon. Well, actually, those look pretty good.

I'm still knitting the cabled cardi for Kim. I've got it with me at work tonight and I should be able to finish the body tonight. I don't know what I'll work on after this one.

Yeah. Can you tell there's really nothing going on here? I need to DO something!

2:49 a.m. - 2004-02-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter