monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The only difference that I see is you are exactly the same as you used to be

Last night we took Buffy for a long walk to the cemetary and back, and she was tired by the time we got home! So was I. This morning she wasn't quite as wildly energetic on our walk, so maybe that long one last night wore her out.

So yesterday I got home at 7 and stayed up talking to Kim and Rachel on my bed until they left for church and then I went to sleep. I woke up before noon and couldn't go back to sleep, so I got up and stayed up until 9 last night. Oh man, was I tired, but I didn't want to sleep in the evening and then be up all night.

Maybe that would have been better, though, because I was tired, and I went into the cat's bathroom and their litter box was so nasty that I started cleaning it and it was horrible! Rich told me earlier this week that I shouldn't just pour out the litter and put in fresh litter every time they dirty the box up. He said that what he does is to scoop out the turds and stir the litter up from the bottom so that the clean top litter can absorb the smell. Hmmmm.

So this week, I have been in there scooping up turds every day and stirring the litter up from the bottom, and you know what? It was stinky!

When I cleaned it yesterday, I was scraping layers of black smelly clay off of the bottom of the box and the fumes of ammonia were so strong that it was burning the hairs out of the inside of my nose! I was scraping, and screaming in the agony of burning nose hairs and horrible fumes, and oh my gosh, it was awful!

So then I thought that I would wash out the box, because Sarah told me she washes her cat box, so I turned on the water in the bathtub and squirted dish soap in, and cleaned the box, except then the clay was clogging the drain and Rich was pretty crabby about cleaning that up! Some people are just not grateful when I'm helping them!

Well, then I just sat on my butt like a ...well, something that sits on its butt, and I started knitting the second Wallaby, but while I knitted the bottom ribbing, Rachel and I were talking about her clothes, and after she described something she wore last week, I told her that she needed a vest with that outfit to make it complete. She agreed, so I went looking for a pattern and found the yarn I actually bought to make a vest for her a couple of months ago.

The pattern I was planning to make was from the new Interweave Knits. It's a yellow and orange thing with ugly suns embroidered on it, but what I liked about it was the shape and the way the bottom was made with long side slits. So I took the idea of the long side slits, and the seed stitch edging, and I'm going to make the bottom like that vest, and then when I join the front and backs that I'm knitting now, I'll knit the upper body in one piece to the underarms and use the shaping from the Handy Book of Patterns to do the armholes and the v-neck shaping.

The yarn that I bought for this is some Encore DK in a wonderful marled dark blue with light bits that looks like dark denim. I'm using size 5 needles and getting about 5.5 stitches to an inch.

Today I decided to make a cabled vest for Rich, who doesn't know he wants one, but he was leaving for work wearing a pair of khakis and a white shirt. There was nothing wrong with it, except that it was so blah! So I mentioned a vest and he didn't jump for joy (or express any interest at all for that matter, the bastard) but well, he's getting a vest. Eventually.

7:09 a.m. - 2004-03-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter