monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Early morning walk in the cold!

So yesterday Rachel left to meet some friends in Nauvoo, spend the night there and go back to school on Saturday. 3 hours later she called me to say that she had been lost for the last hour! I got out a map and guided her back to the highway - or what passes for highway in that area! The route to Nauvoo is mostly two-lane highways through small farm towns, except for the place where she got lost, which is a big cluster of highways going everywhichway. She got down there okay, though, and I haven't heard from her again, so she must be having a good time with her friends.

Kim was playing dinner music at the Relief Society birthday party last night, which meant that I had to attend. I told Rich that if he transported the harp to the church and picked it (and us) up afterward, he could stay home. It's better to have one of us here with Buffy, anyway.

A couple of my friends were there without husbands, so I sat with them and it was kind of fun. Both of them work in the schools, and it was depressing to listen to them talk about the problem kids they have to deal with. It's not even the kids who are the biggest problem, it's their parents! It's shocking to find out how some of those kids live, and frustrating, too, because I can't do anything about it.

The dog woke us up at 2 in the morning, and didn't want to settle down, so Rich took her downstairs, and I went back to sleep. At about 6, Rich came back up and got in bed, but Buffy showed up a couple of minutes later, and Rich groaned that he'd been up with her all night!

I had been half-awake anyway, and having a dream that I was driving around lost in a big city and I was about to call my house and have someone look at a map and guide me home, so I got up, gathered up my clothes from the floor and came downstairs to get dressed.

Buffy had pooped on the floor in those couple of minutes when Rich was upstairs! What a bad dog! I took her outside to walk, hoping to tire her out, and she pooped again! Evidently, the dog is full of shit!

We walked about a mile (with me carrying a bag of poop, and I think roadside trash cans would be a good idea in this neighborhood), and it's freezing out there! Yesterday we walked her in the morning and it was only 10 degrees outside, and today it was 25 degrees! It's not pleasant, I tell you what!

So we're back home and the terrible pooping dog is asleep in the living room. I'm going to go read a library book and knit.

Kim lost a (handknitted) glove after the concert on Thursday, and I promised her a new pair. I'm using Naturespun wool in a dark purple. It's a sportweight wool from Brown Sheep. I'm knitting it on size 2 needles and using the pattern from the Handy Book of Patterns. I love that book!

6:57 a.m. - 2004-03-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter