monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"I love him awful, Ma.\"

Oh my goodness, we had quite a day today!

When I got home from work I checked my phone messages, and there was one from Rachel's boyfriend, who said he needed to talk to Rich, but he would try to call again later. Then he said, no, he had to work all day, but he really needed to talk to him. Hmm, I wonder what that could be about?

Rachel was online so I IMd her to try to casually say that Dave had left a message without giving away the content. I was so clever, I amazed myself!

I went to bed and Rich took his car to the Saturn dealer for repairs. It turned out that we didn't need one of the repairs we thought we needed, so that was a relief!

When I woke up, there was another message from Dave, but he wasn't home when I tried to call back. Darn!

I went to the dentist later, and when I got home, Rich said that Dave had called again to say he was in town and wanted to see both of us, but Rich told him I was gone and that he'd be leaving soon himself. What? How could he be in town? He lives in Mississippi and was expecting Rachel to visit this weekend!

So I asked Rich if he was sure it was that Dave, because it might be Big Dave Wootwoo, who just returned from his mission, and Rich said, no, he had an accent, so he was sure it was Dave.

Now let me just say that Rich was totally nervous and on edge about the whole idea of having a young man come to ask his blessing and he had been fussing about it all day! "Why does he have to involve me? Can't they just work it out themselves? I don't want some embarrassing emotional scene!" Because we are pretty much soul-less bastards who hate it when people get all serious and stuff.

That's when I called Rachel and asked her what was going on, if she thought it was possible that Dave would come up here, and she said yes, that she wouldn't be surprised if Joe flew him up here. Oh yeah, Joe! He's a hopeless romantic who would love to further the cause!

I called Joe and when he answered I said, "Where are you right now?" and he said he was driving home from class, and I demanded proof, so he told me about the other cars on the highway and some of the landmarks he was passing, until I believed him. Then I explained about the wierd call that Rich got, and Joe thought it was a cool idea, but no, it wasn't happening.

And then I got smart and dialed *69 to get the last number that called our line! Haha, it was indeed Big Dave Wootwoo, and we could all relax. Whew!

So it was a big dramatic day and now I'm relaxing at work and wondering if Rachel will get engaged this weekend.

3 a.m. update: Rachel called and says she's engaged!

Here, go engage yourself in taking another quiz:


"Baroque Art emerged in Europe around 1600 as an reaction against the intricate and formulaic Mannerist style which dominated the Late Renaissance." (artcyclopedia.com.) Baroque Art is fairly realistic but is often willing to smudge the realism in favor of theatricality and the emotional pull that is its trademark. You're most likely a creative, talented emotional person who likes attention. Although it could all just be a show. Famous Baroquers (there are lots): Rembrandt, Rubens, Caravaggio, and You.


which art movement are you?


this quiz was made by Caitlin

11:12 p.m. - 2004-03-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter