monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You spin me right round baby.

My allergies were so bad today that I took a Drixoral this morning, with the result that I slept away a large part of the day, and when I was awake, I was groggy and cold. I'm feeling a little more awake at work tonight, now that it's worn off, but there is some residual hangover.

Buffy doesn't like to walk with me, and it's pissing me off! Having a walking companion is one of the reasons that I wanted a dog, and now she won't cooperate! Apparently she thinks that I am no fun to walk with, as I march her along and don't let her stop and smell every little spot on the lawns we pass, or eat stray dryer sheets. I'm out there to walk, dammit, and I keep her moving! So when I try to take her out, she will go out if she needs to potty, and after that, she plants her feet on the sidewalk and won't go any further! I have to take her back home, unless I want to drag her down the sidewalk like a dead seal!

Tonight Rich went to work for an hour or so, and I told him I would take the dog for a walk while he was gone because she was all over him and I thought he could use a break. As soon as Rich left the house, she plunked down on the tile in the hall and went to sleep, and by the time I got my shoes on, she was snuffling and snoring, and wouldn't get up to walk at all!

When Rich got home, she was still sound asleep and I told him what happened. He got the leash and put his coat back on, and Buffy jumped right up to go with him, but when she saw that I was going too, oh my goodness, you never saw such a dejected-looking dog! "Oh man, SHE has to come with us??" She walked soooo sloooowly, sniffing at things and picking up sticks, and just generally moping the whole way. She didn't even want to take a long walk, she just walked about 3 blocks and wanted to go back home. I'm ruining the dog's life!

*****

This weekend I finished all of the Wallabys I've been working on! I'm so excited to have something different to make! I cast on for Dave's missionary vest, and I've got it at work with me!

Rachel came home for the Fiber Festival that took place on Saturday (she also came home for Kim's birthday!) so we went to that, and Kim wanted to go with us. There was a vendor who would let you hand-dye a skein of white wool, and Kim has done that before, but this time she's a little older and she used better colors, so she's got a nice skein that I'll knit into gloves for her in the Fall.

I bought enough of some dark plum to make a sweater for Rachel, and some sock yarns, too. Kim was eyeing some Learn to Spin kits that contained a drop-spindle, a how-to book and some wool, so I bought her one for her birthday. She's been practicing with it and is making progress. If she manages to spin all of the wool that came with the kit, I told her I would knit something for her with it. If she would just spin everytime she sits down to watch cartoons, I could have a wonderful supply of hand-spun to knit with! Yeah, like that's going to happen.

3:00 a.m. - 2004-04-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter