monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What year were the Nagano Olympics?

Paula from Telemetry just called me from the hall phone outside my office to see if I had change for a dollar. (The coin changing machine is often empty by Sunday night.) So I let her in and went through my purse and found enough change, and then I showed her my knitting (she is a knitter, too), and while I was talking to her I leaned forward onto my desk and felt something in my bra...Hey! It's the wooden dpn I was using earlier to cable with! That's where I put it! I couldn't find it when I was packing my bag to come to work, and I even shifted the cat who was lying on the couch to see if the needle was under him! Yeah, Paula thought it was pretty funny.

Don't tell me I'm the only person who puts things in her bra for easy access!? The other day I was leaving for work and I asked Kim if she had a dollar so I could get a pop later and she pulled two bucks out of her jeans (hey, it was probably my money anyway!) and gave it to me, and then gasped in horror when I put it in my bra! She thinks it's shocking now, but I guarantee she'll be doing it herself in a few years.

I also put my cell phone in my bra if I'm going to be in a place where I might not hear it ring because of the noise. Like if I'm expecting a call and I don't want to miss it? Yeah, it's set on vibrate and ring, because heaven knows I don't want to miss an important call from Rachel about the score on her last physics test, or Kim calling to get a ride home from somewhere.

Speaking of cell phones (I'm done with bras now. You're welcome.), Rachel told me something about Dave today that I thought was so sweet - he's a little concerned about her talking on her cell phone while she's driving. He's all nice about suggesting that she use her headphone though, not naggity like that guy she went out with a couple of times in January. I just think it's so thoughtful and caring, not like, for instance, my husband, who wouldn't care if I drove my car standing on my head and steering with my feet.

I haven't talked about knitting in a while, but I think it's because I'm not knitting lots of things, for once. The only current knitting is the cabled ribbed vest from the Men in Knits book and the Regia cotton Sherbet-colored socks that I'm carrying around in my purse. That's it. I have the usual stalled projects in baskets in the yarn room, but there are only 3 of those. I'm just enjoying working on this vest so much that I haven't started anything else. I think when I finish it, I'll try to concentrate on the Nagano sweater - it's been in the works for 5 years, maybe 6. I'd be proud of myself if I managed to finish that one. I still hate the color, though. Darn.

11:09 p.m. - 2004-04-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter