monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home where my family's waiting.

I know I've said before that this day or that day was the longest day of my life, but today it really was the longest day of my life!!

I went right to bed when I got home this morning, but Rachel called and woke me up to tell me what was going on with her car, so I got out of bed and started making phone calls to help get her back to Edwardsville!

The car dealership said that the work on her car would take all day, and probably be done tomorrow, so we had to decide if it would be better to stay overnight again, and miss more of her classes, or if she should have her friend Erin come to pick her up and then go back in a day or two to pick up the car.

Erin and JD were able to go to get her, but it wouldn't be until about 10 at night, and checkout time at the motel was noon, so it was just a matter of finding something to do all day until they got there.

I called the local ward building, not really expecting anyone to be there, but a woman answered who said she was there working in the Family History Library. She was about to leave for the day and she offered to pick up Rachel and keep her at her house! She gave me her phone number and I said I would call Rachel and Rachel would get back to her.

By then Rachel had checked out of the motel and gone to Walmart to buy a book to read and a charger for her phone. She called me later from a pay phone at a grocery store and ...

You know what? This story is just too exhausting to go into. Let me just say that many, many phone calls were made, and many people were helpful, and that her friend Gary who left school at the end of last semester is living only about an hour from where she was stranded, and she got his phone number and he drove her back to Edwardsville.

Erin and JD are going to take her back to Sikeston, MO on the weekend to pick up her car. Whew! The repairs to the car are going to be very expensive, but her grandpa is paying for them, so I'm relieved.

I was up all day! I was tired! Rachel got everything settled by 1 in the afternoon, but I had to stay up for another hour to pick up Kim! I went to bed as soon as I got her home, and slept for a couple of hours and then Rachel called to say she was home! Yay!

I talked to her for a while, and then I was awake, so I took a pill and slept until it was time to come to work. Aaahh.

11:21 p.m. - 2004-04-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter