monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am tired of sneezing.

It's very pleasant to be at work tonight and not be training anybody! Ah, sitting by myself, just reading knitblogs, surrounded by silence. This is why I love my job. Tomorrow, however, it's back to the training.

Rich left this morning for a conference in Las Vegas. He'll be there until Wednesday and we are in charge of the dog, the dishes, and driving Kim to Seminary in the morning.

I slept until the girls got home from church today, and then we hung out in the living room, watching Kim play Kingdom Hearts and knitting. Kingdom Hearts is not that interesting, so I haven't watched it much, but Rachel has spent a lot of time watching a friend at school play it, and she likes it. Kim hasn't played it much up to now because I wasn't interested in it, but her friend Catsy likes it, so I must just be missing something that would make it fascinating. Huh.

Later I made chicken curry and Rachel and I walked the dog. As we left the house, Rachel pulled the door closed behind us, and I didn't have a key with me, but Kim was inside, still playing KH, so I didn't give it another thought, until we got back 40 minutes later and rang the bell for Kim to let us in and she didn't answer the door! We rang and rang, and knocked, and the dog was getting pretty anxious about it, so Rachel tried calling on her cell phone but got no answer!

We could not figure out why Kim wasn't answering the door, and I was slightly worried that she might be dead, and finally we called Ruthann, who has a key to our house (and I don't know why I haven't hidden one in the garage, but I need to get on that) and she came over and let us in. We went in and found Kim, in my bed, sound asleep with her head under the covers! I can't believe she never woke up with all the racket we made!

*****

I'm knitting a cardigan for Rachel, using some Lush yarn that I bought from Knitpicks when they had it on special offer. It's an odd kind of gray with a touch of green, about the color of dried sage. The first pattern I tried was too complicated and I was tired, so I kept ripping it out and starting over, trying to just get the set-up row right for the cables, and then I decided that I didn't want to work that hard.

I found another pattern to try, the Summer Braids Cardigan from Cabin Fever, and cast on for that yesterday. I knitted a swatch for it, measured, and it was a little bigger than the gauge called for in the pattern, so I was going to cleverly knit a smaller size that would work up to the size I need with the bigger gauge I was getting. Last night at work I cast on for the sweater and knitted about 2.5 inches and it was beautiful!

I wanted to check it for size, though, so today I spread out my knitting and measured, and darn! It was smaller than expected! It appears that my gauge wasn't as a far off as I thought. So Rachel ripped it out for me, and I cast on for a larger size and worked on it this afternoon while watching Kim play KH, and I've got about an inch done. That doesn't sound like much, but this sweater is knit in one piece up to the underarms, so there are 292 stitches to a row!

My allergies are killing me today, and I hope it's something outside and not this yarn.

11:53 p.m. - 2004-05-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter