monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am curious about who is reading me.

It's so humid here! Rachel and I went for the two-mile walk tonight, and she was talking to Dave on her cell the entire time, and I was just hiking along, sweating!!

When I woke up this afternoon, the girls had bread dough rising in the kitchen to make pizza, and they had vacuumed, too. OMG, it was lovely! I wish Rachel would just live with us and make my life better every day!

They had shopped for pizza supplies and made two pizzas, one with no sauce, just olive oil, garlic, sliced tomatoes and cheese, oh, and hearts of palm! The other was a traditional pepperoni pizza, with cheese rolled into the crust. Very nice!

After the pizza, Rachel and I made a run to my friend Shelley's for her daughter's graduation open house. I had been planning to blow it off, but Shelley called to make sure I knew about it, so I thought I should show up. I didn't have time to shop for a graduation card so I crossed out the word Anniversary on a card I had in my desk and wrote in Graduation - it was a cute card with chimps on it! All the recipient cares about is the money inside, anyway.

Then we drove back to our house and picked up Rich and Kim (I called to say we were on our way, so they were sitting on the front steps) and we went to the movies to see HP3.

It was pretty good. I understand why lots of good stuff was left out, and why things were changed, and it worked well for the most part. Could Lupin have been more darling? Could he have been a less attractive werewolf? Yeah, that was just hideous.

It almost never works for me to see a book that I love turned into a movie. I'm trying to think of an exception; a movie version that I really liked and only one comes to mind - High Fidelity. I love that movie! It's very true to the book (the dialogues are almost verbatim), and the actors are just perfect.

So I keep going to the Potter movies and being a little disappointed each time. Not terribly, but still...

BTW, if you are reading this, send me a note! I love feedback, and sometimes it's the only thing that keeps me writing. I have to have an audience! Click on the Contact Me link above and tell me how amusing, entertaining, and funny I am. (Or how annoying and dull I am, whichever.)

Knitting news:

Since the Gryffindor scarf is done, I am just doing socks. I don't know why I like socks so much, but they never get tiresome. They are mostly mindless knitting - just something in my hands as I go through the day - with a slight bit of interest at the heel and toe, and they are small so I just carry them around and knit whenever I have a minute. Sometimes I make a sock with a texture pattern, or I start one that's toe-up, but I don't usually finish them. They require too much attention, and I only want something to do with my hands while I read, eat, work, watch TV, or talk. So I finally rip back and start over with my ordinary, cuff-down, flat iron heel, no ribbing sock. I carry the pattern in my head because I've made so many!

I worked on one in varigated pink/yellow/orange Regia last night while I read at work, but I was almost to the heel and I didn't want to work on it while watching the movie tonight, so I started a new sock when we got to the movie and did about 3 inches while we watched. I brought it with me to work on while I read tonight. It's dark blue Opal with stripes, and I'm working it on size 1 needles.

Reading: Appleby and the Ospreys by Michael Innes. I'm pretty sure I've read it before, but I know I enjoyed it, so I'm sure I'll like it again. I went to the library on Saturday and checked out a bunch of mysteries by favorite authors so I would have pleasant reading for work. I got four by Joan Fleming, who I only just discovered a couple of weeks ago, and she wrote lots back in the 60s, so they are a little old-fashioned, but very entertaining. She's subtly witty and writes a good murder mystery.

Watching:

Nothing, but Rachel says she will go to Blockbuster tomorrow to get a couple of movies.

11:12 p.m. - 2004-06-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter