monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Buffy needs a bath.

By the time I left work this morning I had worked myself into quite a snit, what with fuming over working two 12-hour shifts this week and mentally cursing Larissa's Mother for quitting, and I was pretty much hating everyone I work with.

Then I got home and whined to Rich for a while before I went to bed. He was taking the day off to get some mowing and hedge clipping done. He did get the yard mowed but the hedge clipping? Not so much. After he cut through the extension cord with the hedge trimmer, that was the end of the hedge work.

When I woke up, Buffy was outside in the backyard, just wandering around on her leash. The next time I looked out there, she was laying on the picnic table. She is so dirty and stinky that no one wants to be around her, and Rich is taking her in for a bath on Friday. Her muzzle area is especially grungy, and she seems to sweat there! Yuck! Also, Rich noticed the floor around the toilet in his bathroom was wet, and he thought the porcelain was sweating, but then after a walk, he saw Buffy drinking from the toilet, then she paused and dunked her face into the water, then she hung her head over the side and let it drip onto the floor. That dog is so weird.

Did I mention how she herded Kelly's baby? Yeah, Cassidy was crawling out of the living room, down the hall and into the kitchen, with Buffy walking beside her, licking her head (because Buffy is weird and she licks the cat's heads too - well, only Patsy, the other cats hate her too much and don't let her get that close), and then Buffy started circling around the baby, crouching and staring at her, and then bounding up with a bark, circling to the other side, crouching again... It's how dogs herd sheep, and apparently, babies.

Cassidy, however, didn't know she was being herded, as she is not a sheep, and just kept crawling, so finally I picked her up and carried her back to the living room. I'm not sure if Buffy was trying to herd the baby back out of the kitchen to keep her away from the dog food, or to bring her back to us, as if she thought we were just carelessly letting the baby stray.

Stay tuned for more stinky dog stories.

11:59 p.m. - 2004-06-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter