monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which dogs steal yarn.

What's wrong with Diaryland? I was going to update last night but the Diaryland home page looked all wonky, so I didn't even try. Tonight it's still a mess, but I clicked on the sign-in and it signed me in, so I guess things are okay. Still looks wonky, though.

Rachel woke me up about 11 this morning to say that she has a job interview in E-ville tomorrow, and she's very excited about it. So excited, in fact, that she didn't take the job that she interviewed for today in our town. I am so disappointed! In fact I was noticeably crabby about it, and sad, too.

I asked her why she didn't want to take the perfectly good job, and a great opportunity, I might add, and she said because there is nothing for her to do here. She hasn't got any friends here anymore, and the only young man in our ward who is her age is a massive bore. I pointed out that there is no one in E-ville for her to date, and she said she can meet people in St. Louis, so I said Fine, you're never going to get married (I'm not sure I said that, but Rachel says I did), and she said "Right, and these pants make my butt look so big," in a mean imitation of what she claims I say to her when I have PMS. I don't remember saying anything like that, either.

So I was very sad when she left this afternoon, and she was annoyed with me, but later she called and talked to me when she was bored in traffic, and reminded me of all the reasons this move is going to be a good thing. For her.

So last night when Rachel and Kim were both gone, I went for a walk with Rich and the dog, and oh my goodness, it is so annoying to walk with that ridiculous dog! She meanders all over the place, from one side of the street to the other, sniffing here, sniffing there, eating stray bits of trash and pinecones, and Rich does not just give her a little tug to keep her moving along, noooo, he just follows her around and lets her walk down the middle of the street! Who the hell walks their dog down the middle of the street? Dogs need to get their butts on the sidewalk and march, I say march, from Point A, being my door, to Point B, being the end of the walk I choose to take, and back again to Point A. Dogs do not get to choose where they are going to walk, and sniff, and chew random rocks and clods of dried grass!

So last night I went on the first two blocks of the walk with Rich, and then I turned to head for home. When I got to the house, Kim had just gotten home from wherever she was, so she got up off the couch and took a walk with me. A real walk. Now where was I going with this?

Oh yes, so when we got home from the walk, it was almost time for me to go to work, and I couldn't find my current bit of sock knitting that I carry to work in my purse! I thought I left it on the coffee table in front of the love seat, but it wasn't there. Finally I found it on the dining room table (in the Dog Free Zone), only it had become a wadded mess of yarn with needles sticking out of it!

I immediately suspected the dog, but the yarn wasn't slobbery, so I reluctantly said a cat must have done it, but it's weird because normally our cats don't play with yarn. I brought the mess to work with me, untangled it and finished the sock, and today I just thought I would ask Rich in a non-judgemental way, not blaming the dog outright at all, what happened to the yarn, because he must have been the one who found it, having got home from his "walk" with the dog before I got home from my real walk with Kim. Of course Rich just says he found the yarn in a mess like that, and refuses to speculate on which animal did the damage, but I think we all know who did it. Uh-huh, Buffy the yarn slayer.

11:11 p.m. - 2004-06-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter