monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can't join the army because I look terrible in khaki.

I went to Verna's Yarn Shop today, and wandered around with Ruthann, who doesn't care about yarn, but for some reason is usually willing to accompany me, and maybe it was the heat/humidity, but I just could not get excited about knitting at all. I think it's the first time I have ever been in that shop and not bought something ! I mean, if I don't buy anything else, I will buy a pair of bamboo dpns, size 1, because I can't have too many of those!

So I was just wandering around the store, looking at all the new yarns, and not buying anything, but then when I got home, I was still thinking about two of the yarns I saw...one of them was a soft cottony (but I think it had acrylic content) varigated yarn in two colorways that I liked - one was a khaki/sage/yellow and the other was some kind of sage/soft purple mix. The other yarn was cotton, in a dark blue, like denim, that I'm sure would fade as it gets washed and worn. I kept thinking about them, and finally I called Verna and asked her to hold both of them for me, in quantities big enough to make a sweater for Kim.

When I told Rachel about the yarns, though, she reminded me that 1. I don't like varigated yarns, except for socks, and 2. no one in our family wears sage, khaki or yellow, and looks good in them. Damn. I hate it when she is right. I know that none of us can wear those colors, but I love khaki and sage! Yellow, not so much. So tomorrow I'll call Verna back and tell her that I don't want that yarn. I'm planning to make a cable rib sweater for Kim with the denim yarn, using the same pattern I used to make the vest for Rachel. (From the book Men in Knits.)

Still working on the varigated Bernat yarn socks for Gma, and the Wildefoot handpaint socks for Inger. I've got a big pile of library books to read, so I can get some knitting done!

11:45 p.m. - 2004-07-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter