monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Self-striping weasel socks.com

I know, I know, I never write, but there is nothing going on! I work, I sleep (not enough, ever), and then I sit on the couch and knit. You know you wish you were me.

So I got a call from my brother Ed tonight, and he was calling to let me know that our Grandma Ruth died this morning. I feel a little sad about that, but she was old, she was confused, and I don't think it's better to be alive if you're living in a nursing home and don't recognize your family anymore. She was a nurse who worked in nursing homes when she retired from hospital work, and she never ever wanted to be in a nursing home herself. So this is better.

Grandma Ruth always had cookies in a jar shaped like a rooster on a bottom shelf in her kitchen. I remember them sometimes being those windmill cookies, but there were other kinds, including a storebought oatmeal cookie with a dab of jelly in the middle of the top. She like to refinish pieces of furniture, and she always had a work in progress on the glassed-in porch. When I was an adult, she took me with her to a couple of different classes at Greenfield village, just to be company for her in a class she was interested in. I learned to replace a caned chair seat, and to hook a rug. I still have the half-done piece of work from that class.

It was interesting to talk to Ed, too, since I hardly ever do, and he told me about his business. I just heard about it in July when I was in Michigan, so I wanted some details! Good for him, and I hope it goes well.

I have a big list of knitting projects, some started and some in the planning stages, and one of them is the French Market Bag from the Winter 03 issue of Knitty.com. I made one and Kim has been using it, so I'm going to make another one for Ruthann and get it finished for her birthday next week. I'll make a list of my projects and post it next week, but I've got to get to work now.

1:07 a.m. - 2004-09-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter