monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We need some music written for harp and bass guitar!

Scott is a good boy. He's been playing Zelda Wind Waker to entertain me (not for selfish reasons of his own, I'm sure) and helping me understand my chemistry. It's hard to help me understand it, since I don't give a shit, and I keep using filthy language. My poor son.

It's General Conference weekend, and I am working, so I slept through the first session this morning, waking up in time to listen to the last speaker. I knitted on Kim's hoodie during the afternoon session, and it is almost done! Just one more pocket and then the bottom ribbing. It's got buttons instead of a zipper, so I have to find some cool buttons for it - maybe something with celtic knots engraved on them.

Yesterday I started a scarf/shawl that I've been promising to make for Rachel. It's made with some brilliant red yarn - it almost glows! My friend Shelley gave me the yarn a couple of years ago. I'm using a pattern from the latest Interweave Knits; I think it's called Flower Basket? I don't usually have good luck with lace patterns but this is going well. I finished the first bit last night, and then put it aside to finish Kim's sweater. The new Knitty has a pattern for a lace shawl called Cozy; it's a big rectangle with a simple lace pattern, and I'm going to make that next, also for Rachel. She just appreciates my knitting, so it's fun to make things for her!

Things I have committed to make (that I am procrastinating):

  • Socks for Gma
  • A sweater for Shirley's dog
  • A sweater for my dad's dog
  • Novelty yarn scarf, also for Gma, but I'm not going to make it unless Sarah makes the one for Shirley, because they are like 5 yr olds - if you make something for one, you've got to make one for the other, too.
  • Scarf for Ed - I want to make something for him to thank him for taking care of Dad.

I'll start these things soon, really.

Kim is whining every day about how much she doesn't want to do cross-country any more. Rich told her she should finish the season as there are only 2 weeks left (3 weeks left when she started complaining), but she has pain in her hip and both achilles tendons, not to mention the hideous oozing blisters she had on Wednesday! She went with Rich to the meet today, but after she ran the warm up, she was in pain and didn't run in her race. The coach offered to shoot her like an injured horse, so I've been calling her Seabiscuit.

I don't think she'll be running any more this season, and she isn't planning to do it again next year. It's ridiculous to be in so much pain from a sport when you're only 15. Unless you're an Olympic gymnast.

Her life isn't ruined, however. She has other options to pursue - she got a call yesterday from someone who runs a B&B who wanted to get an idea of what she charges to play the harp at weddings and receptions! Kim played at a wedding there in June, and the owners were impressed and want to encourage people to use Kim as a harpist for their special functions! Now she needs to spend some time practicing to further her career.


3:15 a.m. - 2004-10-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter