monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chimpy Chimperson. Heh.

The last frame of a comic strip I just read said, "Pick looks over health if you ever have a choice." Isn't that what I've been saying for years? It's better to look good than to feel good!

So here's the thing; I haven't written anything for two weeks (!) because for the first week I didn't have anything to write about, and this week I had Diana and Nick here for company and I took the week off of work and stayed home with them!

Oh my goodness, it was pretty fun, and the time flew by! They got here on Sunday afternoon, while Scott was still gone to Idaho to visit his friends, and the first night they were here, Diana and I sat in the living room and knitted and watched Nick play a video game, and that pretty much set the tone for the whole week!

You can reference Diana's report on the week here.

So Monday Kim didn't have school and we decided that we'd better take the kids to the apple orchard that day when she could go too, because last year we went one day while she was in school and she was pretty mad about that. Well guess what? Everyone else's kids had a day off, too, so they were all there and we had to stand in line for 20 minutes to get *warm* cider donuts. We sent Nick and Kim off to buy themselves a cup of cider and to look at little craft-type things and we amused ourselves by talking on our cell phones and making fun of the other people in line.

We left there with two dozen warm cider donuts and Kim was mad because we didn't buy her a gallon of cider, too, but I was too overstimulated by the huge crowd and I just needed to *leave*!

Thanks to my sad sense of direction we spent another hour in the car, driving around in Rockford to find the yarn store. By the time we got there, Kim was asleep in the back seat and we left Nick in the car to keep an eye on her (he didn't so much want to look at yarn with us anyway, go fig). We bought some yarn and found our way back home quite easily, thanks.

After that we spent most days sitting on the couch, knitting and watching Nick play video games, interrupted occasionally by a hour or so of the Food Network. We took some walks with Buffy, too, and she really misses Diana now that she's stuck with just me again, because I don't give her treats or take her for what she feels are enough walks.

We were working on felted bags this week, and finished a couple of them. Diana finished one more in the car on the way to the airport so she'll felt that one at home. She made it with the blue yarn from Kim's hoodie that I ripped out last week after she tried it on and it was too small!! I'll probably try that one again with another yarn. And another pattern. Damn.

Diana left yesterday, but we are still eating the apple pie that she made on Thursday!

This morning was Kim's final cross-country race, and I slept through it because I stayed up late last night watching Scott play Final Fantasy X, and knitting on the glowing red Flower Basket scarf. Rich thinks I complain too much at the cross-country meets, so he prefers to go by himself, anyway.

When they got home from the race, I saw that Kim ran in spandex tights and a long-sleeved white shirt under her usual running gear, because it was cold and windy this morning. She and Rich were all excited about going out to the apple orchard again, so Scott and I dressed and we all went out to get apples in the cold Fall weather.

We didn't go to the orchard in Rockford this time, we went to one a little closer to home. We bought cider, so Kim is happy, and we bought a big pumpkin for our porch, so Diana can be happy too!

When we got home, Rich wanted a nap, so Scott and I walked the dog. It was cold out, so we wore sweaters, and we took the dog up the street to the cemetary, a little more than a mile away, and then through the cemetary to look for a certain stone that Diana wanted a rubbing of, and then turned to walk home and oh. my. goodness. The wind that was at our backs on the way to the cemetary? Oh, it was blowing in our faces, and freezing our ears off, and we were so wishing for hats and gloves, or a car ride home.

When we got home we sat in the warm house and had a donut and watched the Food Network and the dog napped...it was so peaceful and warm.

I managed to get two chapters of my Human Growth and Development book read this afternoon, which is a good thing because don't think I even looked at it once while Diana was here and I didn't do any chemistry either. So next week there will be studying and test taking. It won't be as much fun as this week.

11:17 p.m. - 2004-10-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter