monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which the dog does not get a second walk.

Well here I am back at work. I slept until about 12:30 today, when I heard a funny noise in the hallway outside my room. I said, "What are you doing?" to whoever was out there, and Scott answered that he was breaking into the house - he was crawling through the window on the stair landing, accessible from outside by the roof of the carport - because he didn't have his key and he didn't want to wake me up by ringing the doorbell. Thanks for being so thoughtful, son.

He had a couple of friends from church with him, Preston and his sister Natalie. They were planning to go to the singles ward in Rockford, but they came to eat lunch at our house first.

Scott baked frozen pizzas and I got up and ate with them. After they left, I filled in some worksheets for Human Growth and Development and then went back to bed.

When I woke up again, I thought I would be a good mother, so I went to the kitchen to make some Spooky Soup - a version of German Potato Soup - but first I got distracted and started looking in the cupboard for some bonito flakes that I thought used to reside there. Scott was looking for them the other day and didn't find them, so I pulled things out and threw away some old stuff, but still can't find them.

So I was talking on the phone and making the soup, and the first thing you do is fry bacon until it is crispy. I cut up the bacon and started it frying, and then peeled potatoes and put them on a plate, because you wait until the bacon is crisp before you cook the vegetables. I chopped celery, onions and green pepper, and then, chatting happily on the phone, I dumped them in the pan without thinking! Darn!

So I was not happy, because the bacon was not even beginning to be cooked enough, but I thought maybe I could just put a lid on the pan and let it all cook and the bacon wouldn't probably get crispy but it would at least get cooked through, so I put a lid on the pan, didn't turn down the heat because in my head I was still thinking about trying to get the bacon crisp, and went to the den to sulk about my possibly ruined soup.

Rich was at work like he is every Sunday night, doing billable hours and a report on where he stands on his various projects, so I IM'd him and told him about my soup disaster. He was actually a bit helpful and comforting about it, which makes me think he was being insincere and just saying what I want to hear, but that's okay; it's what I've been trying to train him to do, and it's only taken him 25 years to learn it.

He told me that when he got to work there was some kind of political rally in the parking lot, so he had to sneak in around it. He was being pretty funny about it, but then I smelled my soup cooking, so I went to check on it and apparently it had been sitting there alone a little too long, so it was all brown and stuck to the bottom of the pan!

Kim heard me yelling in the kitchen and came to see what was going on. She looked in the pan and said it wasn't that bad; it wasn't black, it was only dark brown, so we stirred it around and loosened the, er, crispy parts. She convinced me that it would be fine, and I really wanted to believe her, so we added the potatoes and water and left it alone to simmer.

So I finished the soup and you know what? It was fine. The bacon wasn't crisp but it was cooked, and the soup didn't taste burnt at all. I really need to stop going away and leaving things cooking, though. I do it all the time, especially with rice. Hey, I need a rice cooker!

When Scott came home, he still had Preston and Natalie with him, so we talked about movies, and they made plans to have movie night for the Young Single Adults in our ward on Monday nights. Tomorrow they're going to watch Daredevil and I promised to make Monkey Bread for them.

Rich was still at work when P and N left, so I took Scott and the dog and we went for a walk. The dog isn't really as excited about going for a walk with us as you'd think, but I need the exercise and so does she, so we walked her unhappy butt for two miles and then, not 5 minutes after we arrived home, Rich came home, and Buffy was all overjoyed and jumping up to greet him as if she hadn't been out at all! She has scammed an extra walk out of him that way before, like if I'm upstairs and don't hear Rich come in and then when I come downstairs they are already gone, but this time I was right there to tell him she had just come in from a long walk, so her clever plan was foiled. Heh.

11:04 p.m. - 2004-10-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter