monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mr. Lewis and his horse, too.

This is what it sounds like when Scott is tutoring me in Chemistry:

Scott: So the reactant mwah mwah mwah mwah the equation mwah mwah mwah product is a liquid or a mwah mwah mwah...

Me: I don't see why! Why? I don't get it! I don't care!

Or like this:

Scott: The dots represent the valance electrons...

Me: I hate this! I hate Lewis and his dots and the horse he rode in on!

And that is why Scott is a saint for helping me, and he keeps on helping me every day, even though I can only manage to do about one page before I am overcome by sleepiness! Tonight he tried to keep me going but I just couldn't, and he finally let me go to bed to get a nap before work, so to reward him, I'm going to study Balancing Chemical Equations on a tutoring website and surprise him by knowing something tomorrow!

I made meatloaf today and that's just about all that I accomplished. No, wait! I almost forgot, but I had to go to the college and take a test over the first 4 chapters of chemistry! It was 5 pages long, but I knew some of the stuff on it, so that was good. I went in on Friday to take the test over Chapter 5, and the librarian gave me a test and sat me in the test-taking area, but when I looked at the test, it was over stuff I had already been tested on. I took it back and told her I had already done this and she looked a little confused, but she gave me the test for chapter 5 and I did that, but when I got home, I looked at the syllabus and realized that the first test was a review of the previous chapters that I was supposed to have taken before the chapter 5 test. Oops.

So that gave me a couple of days to review the first four chapters and it was a good thing I did, because with Scott's help, I was able to actually learn something! If I had taken that test when it was given to me, I don't think I would have remembered much at all. I still missed plenty of problems, I'm sure, but I knew some stuff, too! Yay!

This week I need to do chapter 6, start chapter 7, and finish a unit of HG&D. I can do it. I think I can, I think I can, I think I can...

Knitting:

The camel-colored alpaca scarf for my brother.

Second Wildefoot sock for Sasquatch, I mean FSIL.

Reading:

Barchester Towers by Anthonly Trollope.

11:57 p.m. - 2004-11-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter