monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wherein I explain why this house smells like a freaking zoo.

Well, it's just been a long, eventful day, and I was planning to sit and write a post before Scott got home, but he came in just as I started writing it, so I'm going to just try to write it up quick and then go interview him about his evening.

I woke up at 6! In the morning! It wasn't pleasant at all, and I was still kind of tired but I couldn't go back to sleep.

So I got up and passed the dog sitting on the landing, looking mournfully out the window. I looked to see if Rich had gone to work, because she usually gazes out the window after him for a few minutes, and then gives up and goes to sleep on the bathroom floor, but his car was still parked in front of the house.

Rich was in the kitchen, making his morning Cream of Wheat, and I asked him why the dog was looking out the window. He said she had peed and pooped on the floor and he yelled at her. So that explains her sadness - her daddy yelled at her! Wow, that never happens!

Well she was acting pretty humble until he left for work, and then she napped on the floor in the hall for a while, but about 9, she woke up and came over to see if I would take her outside. I was feeling sorry for her, so I took her around the block and she was really frisky! She was able to bounce back from the trauma of the morning, I guess.

Ruthann was waiting for me when we got back to the house, and we went out to find some breakfast. I had to hurry back, though, because Kim had to be at the craft show to play the harp and there is a lot of work involved in transporting the harp.

When I went into the house, there was quite a bit of dog vomit (!) on the floor! OMG! Remember the spider panties? Yeah, she horked those up. Rich was at work, and the kids were just getting up and getting dressed, so I had to clean it up myself!!

Now here's the thing about cleaning things up - Rich is big on recycling, and so for the last few years, probably since we moved here, like 10 years ago, he has been discouraging the use of paper towels in the interest of saving the earth. So we use cloth napkins (washcloths and tea towels, really) and I have to use cloth towels for cleaning, and mostly I'm used to it and don't care, but sometimes I long for a paper towel!

So I cleaned up after the dog, but then I just threw out the towel, because ewww! And then I was all pissed off and marched into the den and sent an email to Rich and said that I cleaned up after his dog, and I am sick of never having any paper towels, and I want some paper towels! I said I want a whole case of paper towels so that I never have to be without paper towels again!!

Then Scott and I loaded up the harp, I put lipstick and earrings on Kim, who was wearing her red velvet cowl neck long dress, and her dark red Docs, and we went to the craft show, which was at the hospital, where we unloaded the harp, trundled it down to the show on the dolly, got her set up and then Scott and I just hung out there for two hours while she played.

It was a little dull, hanging out at a small craft show for two hours, but we went to the cafeteria for some lunch, and we shopped for Christmas presents for old ladies, and admired the harpist. I thought we had seen everything there was to see at the craft show - and Scott taught me a useful phrase in Chinese that means "How hard to look at" which loosely translated is "Oh, hideous!" Apparently I speak a little too loudly. Then,at the last minute, just before we left, I found some alpaca yarn for sale! How did I miss that? So I picked out several skeins, and they were really expensive, so I had to narrow it down. Scott vetoed the one skein by saying that it was Fecal Brown, and then he talked me out of buying all 3 skeins of the dark grey because it would have been about 95 dollars, and finally, I just bought one of them, the biggest skein that had 200 yds, and it was (gasp) $36.00. Hey, I deserved it! Remember? I cleaned up after the dog!

By the time we got the harp loaded up again, brought it home, unloaded it, oh man, I was so tired and so was Kim! Scott stayed home, but Kim wanted Taco Bell, so I dragged back out and got her something to eat and then we came home for naps. Oh, but you know what I found on the kitchen table? A case of paper towels! Rich bought them on his lunch hour and left them for me!

Scott left for the temple at 4:30, and I napped on the couch in the living room while Kim napped in the den. When I woke up Rich wasn't home yet, so Kim and I ordered pizza and salad and ate it in my room on the bed because it was warm up there and we were tired, and the house is cold! It was like 30 degrees out!

This evening I knitted and Rich and I watched the rest of The Best Two Years and he was laughing so hard at it! It is pretty funny.

I was staying up tonight, waiting for Scott to get home, and I left the living room for about 5 minutes, maybe less, to run up to the yarn room for a different pair of needles and you know what I found when I got back? One of the cats was sick in the living room while I was gone! Good thing I had some damn paper towels!

12:05 a.m. - 2004-11-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter