monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There were a lot of egg sacs in the window, too.

I've been worrying about the paper I have to write by the end of the week, because I haven't written a paper in oh, 25 years. I have mentioned it to several people, and Rachel gave me some helpful hints on finding information, RA offered to write it for me, and finally, Kim actually started giving me practical, step by step instructions! I'm thrilled, and I think I can almost do it now.

I was going to just go and take the test on the last unit of the Human Growth and Development class without reading the chapters, but then today I wasn't doing anything special, so I pulled out some knitting and began skimming the first chapter and hey! It was interesting! And it was full of stuff I didn't know. Apparently many people, including myself, have some pre-conceived ideas about aging that are completely wrong! Who knew? So I brought the book to work to read the chapters. I'll be glad when this over.

The knitting that I picked up to do while reading about aging was the green vest that I started for PBJ. I don't really want to make a vest for him, but since I said I would, well, I need to just suck it up and finish. It's an easy, fun pattern, that I've made about 4 of already. It's from a book of vest patterns that I can't think of the name of right now. Is it Folk Vests? I think it might be.

I finished the blue watch cap for Inger's husband, and the white sock, second of a pair, for Rachel. I am not excited about anything that I'm currently knitting:

1. Pink alpaca scarf. I would like to call it done when I finish this ball of yarn, but I'm afraid it might look a little short.

2. Licorice Twist Wildefoot socks for Scott. I started both socks and have one in my purse and one by my bed. I'm hoping that if I work on them both at once, they'll be done about the same time.

3. Green Encore vest for PBJ. I'm considering giving it to my FSIL for Christmas, but that would be wrong! I promised it to PBJ!

4. I have another ball of green Encore, a slightly different, more olive-y green, that would make a good hat for my father-in-law. I'm thinking of starting it tomorrow.

5. That scarf for Rachel from a kit I bought at Barnes & Noble for 12 bucks, marked down from $50. Why were they selling scarf kits at B&N? I don't know.

In other news, yesterday Scott removed the giant spider and it's humongous web from the kitchen window. It was a nerve-wracking experience! He was sure that when the window was opened, the spider would jump out and start biting the person who was holding the window up ("And it will bite you and bite you and bite you until you are dead!"), and that he would have to leap forward with a metal containment unit and seal the spider inside to save our lives. Actually he was able to trap it under a glass and throw it outside into the bushes. We imagined that we would see it later, looking at us through the living room window, tapping...tapping... Ugh, it's creepy just thinking about it. The web was huge and thick and sticky and full of Japanese beetles. We called the spider Aragog, and Scott took a picture of it (through the kitchen window glass) before he trapped it.

11:33 p.m. - 2004-12-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter